We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
87
87
30
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
87
30
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian railways heritage property old world charm british era wooden flooring first floor swimming pool new construction sea view manicured gardens modern amenities the ground floor food is excellent food served excellent property very comfortable stay railway station
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Best hotel in this price . Good service .ground floor is Better than other rooms.wifi is good speed .staff behavior is good . Room cleaned everyday by cleanner . Nature's view also good . Parking place is ok.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank JogeshP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudhirMisra, General Manager at Chanakya BNR Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Chanakya BNR Hotel Puri which is also fondly known as the Legend of British Time. Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad to note that we were able to live up to your expectations with our service and accommodation at the hotel.

Thank you for your appreciation of the hospitality and services provided by the team. Indeed it has always been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

The team and I so look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Chanakya BNR Hotel and Puri.

Best Wishes,


Sudhir Mishra
General Manager – Ranchi & Puri

Certificate of Excellence of 2017 winner.
Certificate of Excellence of 2018 winner.
The only Rail Heritage Hotel in Orissa .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Spread over a vast area, the Hotel Chanakya BNR at Puri was earlier owned and operated by the South Eastern Railways; of late, the management of operations has been handed over to a Private Hospitality Management Company.
Nostalgic as it was for me, visiting the hotel after about 45 years (last time we were here was with my parents, back in 1970s). Not much has changed in the façade of the Hotel; ofcourse, modernity has crept in , but has been merged very well with the Old World Charms that was the Hallmark of the then BNR Hotel.
Check in was smooth and we were ushered into our rooms on the ground floor ( we were told that the rooms on the 1st floor are more expensive); though the hotel was running to near capacity, it was a nice thought for the Manager to accommodate us in adjacent rooms.
The rooms open into a long Verandah – traditional and very colonial, which then overlooks into a sprawling garden (reasonably well kept).
Room Service was there even at 10:30 in the night, the rooms smelled fresh, the aircon was working perfect and the washroom was pretty well done up.
A well deserved sleep later, we were on our way to the seabeach close to the Hotel (a 5 minute walk). This beach does not have the huge footfall that the Golden Beach (near Swargadwar) has; infact, it’s a boon as we could enjoy the luxury of soaking in the wonderful sights of the pristine beach.
Breakfast is a feast (the price is included in the room tariff) in the Dining Room on the ground floor; the food quality and selection was immaculate on all the 4 days of our stay.
The Concierge Service (handled by the Front office staff) was pretty good too – we had booked our taxis for the bucket list trip to Konark and also to Bhubaneswar Airport, through the front desk – we were provided with good quality vehicles at competitive prices. As a bonus, we were introduced to a Pujari of the Jagannath Temple, who guided us on our Puja trips to the Temple.
Auto Rickshaws are available in plenty just outside the Gate of the Hotel for frequenting to Swargadwar or the Temple.
The Swimming Pool at the Hotel is good with a children pool annexed; the Gym (on the 1st floor) is small, with sparse equipment – good enough for toning down on a holiday!
Dinners were always at the Restaurant – the food quality and prices are comfortable; we tried Continental, Chinese and Indian food on 3 evenings – my take would be to go for traditional Indian food prepared the ODIYA way – it was really fabulous.
The upkeep of the Hotel is of reasonable standards with linen and towels changed everyday (we desisted from allowing them this as it is unnecessary)
Checkout process was easy and fast.
I would recommend all for staying at BNR in Puri if you wish to be away from the hullabullo traditionally associated with hotels near Swargadwar or do not want to spend a fortune in staying at Luxuries available on the beachfront near BNR.
The only sore point (no fault of the Hotel) is the Ugly building of the Railways built right across the Hotel – it’s an eyesore, spoiling the view from the Hotel and also blocking the sea view.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms good enough
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shibaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudhirMisra, General Manager at Chanakya BNR Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

I am just thinking how can we thank you for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Chanakya BNR Hotel Puri which is also fondly known as the Legend of British Time. Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad to note that we were able to live up to your expectations with our food, service and accommodation at the hotel.

Thank you for your appreciation of the hospitality and services provided by the team. Indeed it has always been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this wonderful review.

Best Wishes,

Sudhir Mishra
General Manager – Ranchi & Puri

Certificate of Excellence of 2017 winner.
Certificate of Excellence of 2018 winner.
The only Rail Heritage Hotel in Odisha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

BNR Chanakya, is a heritage hotel and revives memory’s of the bygone British era . The outside edifice remains the same ,imposing and majestic.However the rooms have been refurbished with modern amenities and are spacious and comfortable.Though one does not get a sea view,thanks to the Railways who have built a huge structure in front blocking the view, the whiff of the sea breeze can be felt sitting on the veranda. The distance to the seashore is quite a bit , especially for senior citizens and kids .
Here one can relax with the hotel providing , enough space to walk around with swimming pool.The service provided is just about O.K though the attitude of the staff lacks professionalism and appears to be laid back. They need to be more prompt and responsive. Food is fine with good choices and the restaurant staff appears to be more positive and helpful. Would suggest that they introduce some of the food serving style that was there prior to the change of management.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank saunak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudhirMisra, General Manager at Chanakya BNR Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Chanakya BNR Hotel Puri. Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

We are happy to know that we were able to live up to your expectations. It was such a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel. Your word " Relaxed atmosphere,spacious room." has delighted us very much.

Your feedback related to staffs is matter of concern and we will definitely work on that for the improvement.

It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback about the team and I have shared your appreciation with them. It is feedback and appreciation from well travelled and discerning guests like you that enable us to meet and exceed guest expectations.

The team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Legend of British time.... Chanakya BNR Hotel Puri.

With warm regards,

Sudhir Mishra
General Manager – Ranchi & Puri

Certificate of Excellence of 2017 winner.
Certificate of Excellence of 2018 winner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Stayed for 2 nights. Please ask for rooms in 1st Floor. Good spacious one with modern amenities. Multi cuisine food specialized in Continental dishes.The support staff are trustworthy and helpful. You can spend plenty of hours sitting at the heritage corridor and cherish the evening sea breeze with your favorite drink. Thank you for another pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank avigly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudhirMisra, General Manager at Chanakya BNR Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Chanakya BNR Hotel -Puri. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that we were able to live up to your expectations with our food, service and accommodation. It was such a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel.

It has been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and personalised service to all our guests. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to one the Chanakya’s property at Ranchi, Puri and Patna.

Best Wishes,

Sudhir Mishra
General Manager – Ranchi & Puri

Certificate of Excellence of 2017 winner.
Certificate of Excellence of 2018 winner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel Chanakya BNR is a classic well maintained and managed property in the Heart of the City of Lord Jagannath Puri. The Hotel rooms are very very spacious and building looks Royal and offers great hospitality with a Midas Touch.Food quality is just awesome.Worth the money and offers exceptional space and comfort.The staff and management here are very courteous and dey look after all the needs of the customer and make sure the visitors enjoy a memorable trip to the City and the Hotel.I have personally visited there more than once and each time I walked in I felt the warmth and serenity around.
Kudos to the management for keeping up the good work.All the best.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank avidnewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudhirMisra, General Manager at Chanakya BNR Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
It was a pleasure to have you stay at Chanakya BNR Hotel -Puri. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that we were able to live up to your expectations in all expect. It was such a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel.

It has been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and personalised service to all our guests. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to one the Chanakya’s property at Ranchi, Puri and Patna.

Best Regards,

Sudhir Mishra
General Manager – Ranchi & Puri

Certificate of Excellence of 2017 winner.
Certificate of Excellence of 2018 winner.

The only Rail Heritage Hotel in Orissa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews