We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
71
67
46
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
67
46
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant heritage property old world charm swimming pool village theme four poster open terrace excellent location decent service naan the cottages beachfront hotel in house sea beach nice pool chole bhature the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Went in this place after viewing review in trip advisor but our expectations was not satisfied where we reached there. Service is below like cheap Dhaba standard. Orderd for starter waiter brought and kept on the table only and there was no servicing in our plate separately..Over Price of the food as comparison.. Restaurant decorations was good but it was not neat and clean. Table cover was so dirty and there was stain on glass.. Very bad experience .Don't go this place with high expectations. If you are paying over priced then you can take service from other hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Monikageniwal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHODADHI_PALACE, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from The Mahodadhi Palace - Puri, Odisha's First and Only Palace Heritage Hotel.

At the outset, We would like to thank you for sparing time and reviewing our property.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have addressed the matter with the concerned department and have taken all corrective measures to obviate reoccurrence.

We do look forward to meeting you on your next visit and we will make sure you carry back better memories of your visit with us.
Warm Regards,

Ashish Mishra

gm@mahodadhipalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Previously I had stayed in the Villa/Cottage outside the Main Building and this time I stayed inside the Heritage Building. Below is my review -

Pros: Big size Room with Sitting Room for Guests, Toiletries were good, Room was Clean and Odor-free, Linen/Towels were clean and good, Service Staffs were co-operative and friendly, GM Panda Babu was a very nice gentleman, Location is Great, may be 1 of the best in Puri and on the Beach. Food was good, though not great but value for money.

Cons: Most disappointing is the restaurant staffs who are not at all skilled, very very slow at responding the guests. Approach was below the average standard and not acceptable in a hotel/service sector. Restaurant cleanliness was average and wash room there was smelling like a government/public toilet. Hotel is not 4* as claimed.

Other Remarks : I could have given a 4*, had I been satisfied in the restaurant, its manager/sub ordinates.

Room Tip: Room 301/302 (Villa) outside the Main Building bit small but good for 2 pax+1 kid at max.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjaya_Kr_Rout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHODADHI_PALACE, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaar from the MAHODADHI PALACE - Odisha's first and only Palace Heritage Hotel !!!

It has been our privilege to have you with us at the Mahodadhi Palace, during your recent visit to Puri. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the hospitality to our guests. It is only through our guests that we get a feedback of our services, which in turn helps us to improve our standards. your feedback regarding the service and wash area near the restaurant is taken up very seriously and proper briefing of all staffs at the service and housekeeping has been done to obviate re-occurrence. Hope you will notice better arrangements on your next visit to the Mahodadhi Palace.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahodadhi Palace and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Thanking You.

warm Regards,

Ashish Mishra
gm@mahodadhipalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The pics on website is misleading.The cabins are made on first floor with broken wooden planks.They are very small and not fir for two people.Just carelessly made rotten wood cabins. washrooms are one step higher and tiny. Not at all comfortable.Only good thing is sea view from terrace.curtain were torn and dirty.Water bottles had salty taste.Food was not tasty .The place is mismanaged. It should not have been 2 star,no way its 4 star.Just a lousy swimming pool...its not a pool but a shallow pond.Too overpriced.Paid Rs 500 extra for breakfast.Thanks to cheating "Booking.com"website. For this lousy place paid Rs 4200.00. Not justified.

Room Tip: sea view room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank geetve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHODADHI_PALACE, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaar from the MAHODADHI PALACE, Puri - Odisha's first and only Palace Heritage Hotel !!!

It has been our privilege to have you with us at the Mahodadhi Palace, during your recent visit at Puri. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of our hospitality to our guests. There are times however, when even the best of intentions are not good enough and therefore it is only through our guests that we get a feedback of our services, which in turn helps us to improve our standards. I personally apologize and have taken up your comments regarding the wooden cottage accommodation and other facilities with the concerned department heads. We are taking all necessary steps to improve all our facilities matching guest's expectations. Hope you will notice the difference soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahodadhi Palace, on your next visit to Puri and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Thanking You.

Regards,

Ashish Mishra
gm@mahodadhipalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Puri from 29th March to 3rd April 2018. Although this is our 3rd visit to Puri, it was our 1st stay at this hotel. The hotel was originally a palace of the Maharaja of Panchkot, which has been renovated into a boutique hotel. We were given a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. To be fair the room was large, but that was about it. There were two french windows opening out to the swimming pool. Naturally, the windows had to be kept closed at all times, and the curtains closed for privacy. There were no other windows and certainly no view of the sea. The bathroom, though large , would begin to smell terribly in the evenings, making us suspect they had problems with the sewerage system. Damp had permeated the walls. The lights were not enough for reading in the evenings, causing a strain on my eyes. Though they did have an electric kettle, and complimentary tea and coffee satchets, for the exorbitant price they were charging, there was no fridge provided. Room service was poor, and we would have to wait for more than an hour to get the food we ordered. After getting food, it was another headache to try and get someone to remove the dirty dishes.
The ambience of the rooftop restaurant was good, but service took a long time and the quality of food was average.To be fair though, the staff were polite, and tried to help and room cleaning services verre provided everyday. All in all we didn't have a very pleasant stay, and I would not recommend this hotel as the services they provide for the high tariff they charge does not make it worth it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHODADHI_PALACE, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from The Mahodadhi Palace - Puri, Odisha's First and Only Palace Heritage Hotel.

At the outset, We would like to thank you for sparing time and reviewing our property.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your feedback. We will make sure that you carry back better memories of your stay with us in the future, and towards this please allow us to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Ashish Mishra
gm@mahodadhipalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Must have been a lovely palace in the years gone by but as of today, this is unbearable. There are cheap hostels right next door with hundreds of people which means you cant sit on the balcony and enjoy any privacy. The road outside the property is pure cacophony and if this wasnt enough, the hotel was hosting a wedding in their lawns which ensured that unless you were stone deaf, there was no peace or quiet at all.

The rooftop restaurant is a disappointment - no local food. One can see the Puri temple from the roof which is why I said that this must have been a great place in the years gone by.

The staff were helpful and understanding and were OK for us to leave in a day instead of 3

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AljarreauStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHODADHI_PALACE, General Manager at Mahodadhi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from The Mahodadhi Palace - Puri, Odisha's First and Only Palace Heritage Hotel.

At the outset, We would like to thank you for sparing time and reviewing our property.

We have made a note of your feedback. You have truly mentioned that we are on the busiest street of Puri Sea Beach, But we are the only hotel on the entire patch which provides a huge open area with lot of greenery to extend a better environment to all our guests at the Mahodadhi Palace. However there are time when the best of our intentions are not good enough and it is through our guest feedback that we get an opportunity to improve our standards to match the expectations of our guests. Regarding the GA restaurant, we have a specially designed menu consists of various options to choose from the list of local cuisine. i can understand the fact that there must be an miscommunication which had concluded with your dissatisfaction at the Restaurant. One again from the entire team at the Mahodadhi Palace i extend my sincere apology and We will make sure that you carry back better memories of your stay with us in the future, and towards this please allow us to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Ashish Mishra
gm@mahodadhipalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews