We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pear Tree(Shillong)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shillong Hills Guest House(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dew Drop In(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kaizun Bed & Breakfast(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ri Kynjai(Shillong)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
9
21
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
21
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary breakfastaffordable pricefood qualitywalking distancewashroomheartbazaarpolicelocationwifi
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Located right in the hub of Shillong this hotel provides great location for relatively affordable price. Our experience was mixed though. We stayed here for 2 nights. On our first night, when we returned to our rooms we found that there was a pipe leakage and water (probably dirty) was dripping from the ceiling. All our luggagw was wet, so was our beds. On informing the authorities we were promptly relocated to nearby Shillong Club, presumably of the same owner, which was a more expensive facility. Although the experience was really unpleasant but the prompt response of the staff saved the day for us. The breakfast was really good and interaction with the staff was pleasant

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasuAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Mr. Anirban,

We thankyou for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon and would like to apologise once again for the pipeline failure during your stay.

We did the best in our capacity to try and move you to a higher category hotel closeby since what you experienced was totally uncalled for and certainly the last thing we wish any guest encounters with us. We thankyou for your patience while we arranged for your transfer and your kind words post the one-off incident.

We would love to host you once again soon. Do feel free to contact me directly at gm.hotelmonsoon@gmail.com for your booking. I would be glad to meet you and ensure that you have the right stay just like most of our patrons.

Warm Regards,
Kush Loungani
Director- Operations
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only in the month of June 2017. Location is great, bang on the Police Bazaar road. Shops, people, hotels, restaurants, cafes, post office you'll find everything around this hotel in walking distance.
Initially we had booked 3 rooms through OM TRAVELS, Guwahati but had to cancel one room at the time of check-in. So we thought there will not be any refund but as a courtesy the hotel staff agreed not to charge for the one room. Also the check-in was very quick and smooth. Room service was also quite prompt. Hence a great service overall.
We had 2 rooms. One room was road facing, with balcony and other one was inner side. The rooms with balcony are smaller compared to rooms on inner side. But overall rooms were clean. One issue we had with the room on inner side --- exhaust fans were making too much noise.
Food - Breakfast was complimentary, it's served in buffet but with very limited choice. Bread, butter, cookies were very fresh as they have their own bakery. We didn't have dinner or lunch at this hotel as we wanted to explore various food joints of Shillong city.

We didn't experience anything luxurious here but overall a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Saurabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Mr. Saurabh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon and sharing your short stay experience.

Short stays are about small quick services and a chance to explore various aspects about the hotel, city and places to see within a short time. We are glad that we fit the bill as far as your expectations are concerned. With the management having its own bakery, indeed the breads offered are fresh and we are glad that you liked our offerings.

We wish to serve you for a another trip to Shillong soon and hope you try our in-house homely food as well.

Best Regards,
Kush Loungani
Director- Operations
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

It was very close to Police bazar. Room was clean and bathroom was very good. Room Service was awesome. Food was also good.. Breakfast banquet was very good. Wi fi was not working. We stayed there for four days. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. all over nice stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Indrani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monsoon​ for your stay in Shillong and sparing time to write about your pleasant experience.

We are glad to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and we will share your feedback with our team. We take pride to share that Hotel Monsoon is considered as one of the best in our segment offering small budget rooms with value added services in a prime location and is the only hotel to provide a Complimentary Buffet breakfast which was welcomed by you. The Wi-Fi glitch has been resolved by our broadband partner and we wish to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Kush Loungani
Director- Operations
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Location this is one of the best hotels in Shillong. Situated at the heart of Police bazar , the hotel is easily accessible . The rooms are pretty good and washroom was clean. Their breakfast buffet was too good which gave us a kick start in the morning. Starting with tea , oil free parantha r rajma to bread toast and cereals and fresh fruit juice. We used to have our dinner outside mostly but one night we ordered food from the hotel and dinner was simple yet extremely tasty !
Our stay was extremely comfortable to say the least. Overall a good experience!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Saptarshi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and sparing valuable time to write your review on this forum.

We added buffet breakfast realising that our tourist and corporate clients​ wished to have a sumptious spread in a quick time before leaving for sightseeing or work. Your mention of this feature is a testimony that it is preferred by our patrons. We at Hotel Monsoon believe that we are a budget hotel with a warm heart and strive to carry this ethos into our service and are glad to know that your entire stay was smooth and memorable.

We wish to see you back soon at Hotel Monsoon.

Warm Regards,
Kush Loungani
Director- Operations
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Pro- Room & Bathroom More or Less Clean But Not Up-to The Mark. Room Service Was Good, Hotel Food Quality Also Okay, Location Is Good (In Heart Of Main City).

Con- I Have Book The Hotel With 2 Nos. 3 Bedded Room & 1 Double Bedded In Same Floor Again Advance Payme
nt. After Repeated Reminder None Of Time Received The Payment Acknowledgement.
On Arrived With Family It Looks That They Are Unable To Give 3 Bedded 2 Rooms Where Willing To Give 2 Bedded 3 Rooms For 1st Night & Requested To Manage.
But Is Was Really Surprised That Next Day They Told That They Are Unable To Give Room In Same Floor. I Was Really Not Understood That When Booking Done As Per Written Confirmation/Advance Payment Then How They Are Not Blocking Relevant Room For Me In Same Floor. I Strongly Denied Their Proposal Forcefully They Allow To Retain Room As Per 1st Night But Number Of Time Their Management Staff Told That They Are Loosing Money To Give Us Extra One 2 Bedded Room.
This Was Personally I Felt Very Unprofessional Approach Towards A Genuine Customer.

Honestly Not Recommend Due To Management Staff Behaviourial Pattern.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Samik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm_Hotel_Monsoon, General Manager at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Guest,
At the onset, we thank you for sharing the good aspects about your stay and would like to acknowledge that indeed we had your confirmed booking for 2 triple bed rooms and 1 double bed room but could not provide you rooms on the same floor. We, however, provided you with 4 double rooms instead for the same booking which were on the same floor.

The front desk only intended to suggest that you were not charged for the difference amount since your booking was confirmed and by all means it was our responsibility to provide you your booked rooms. We trust that based on the feedback you provided us during your stay, you were comfortable and had a pleasant stay with regard to quality of rooms, food and apologize for the miscommunication on our front desk's part.

Wish to serve you soon at Hotel Monsoon.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews