We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good and cozy !”
Review of Monsoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monsoon
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Location this is one of the best hotels in Shillong. Situated at the heart of Police bazar , the hotel is easily accessible . The rooms are pretty good and washroom was clean. Their breakfast buffet was too good which gave us a kick start in the morning. Starting with tea , oil free parantha r rajma to bread toast and cereals and fresh fruit juice. We used to have our dinner outside mostly but one night we ordered food from the hotel and dinner was simple yet extremely tasty !
Our stay was extremely comfortable to say the least. Overall a good experience!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Saptarshi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and sparing valuable time to write your review on this forum.

We added buffet breakfast realising that our tourist and corporate clients​ wished to have a sumptious spread in a quick time before leaving for sightseeing or work. Your mention of this feature is a testimony that it is preferred by our patrons. We at Hotel Monsoon believe that we are a budget hotel with a warm heart and strive to carry this ethos into our service and are glad to know that your entire stay was smooth and memorable.

We wish to see you back soon at Hotel Monsoon.

Warm Regards,
Kush Loungani
Director- Operations
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Pro- Room & Bathroom More or Less Clean But Not Up-to The Mark. Room Service Was Good, Hotel Food Quality Also Okay, Location Is Good (In Heart Of Main City).

Con- I Have Book The Hotel With 2 Nos. 3 Bedded Room & 1 Double Bedded In Same Floor Again Advance Payme
nt. After Repeated Reminder None Of Time Received The Payment Acknowledgement.
On Arrived With Family It Looks That They Are Unable To Give 3 Bedded 2 Rooms Where Willing To Give 2 Bedded 3 Rooms For 1st Night & Requested To Manage.
But Is Was Really Surprised That Next Day They Told That They Are Unable To Give Room In Same Floor. I Was Really Not Understood That When Booking Done As Per Written Confirmation/Advance Payment Then How They Are Not Blocking Relevant Room For Me In Same Floor. I Strongly Denied Their Proposal Forcefully They Allow To Retain Room As Per 1st Night But Number Of Time Their Management Staff Told That They Are Loosing Money To Give Us Extra One 2 Bedded Room.
This Was Personally I Felt Very Unprofessional Approach Towards A Genuine Customer.

Honestly Not Recommend Due To Management Staff Behaviourial Pattern.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Samik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm_Hotel_Monsoon, General Manager at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Guest,
At the onset, we thank you for sharing the good aspects about your stay and would like to acknowledge that indeed we had your confirmed booking for 2 triple bed rooms and 1 double bed room but could not provide you rooms on the same floor. We, however, provided you with 4 double rooms instead for the same booking which were on the same floor.

The front desk only intended to suggest that you were not charged for the difference amount since your booking was confirmed and by all means it was our responsibility to provide you your booked rooms. We trust that based on the feedback you provided us during your stay, you were comfortable and had a pleasant stay with regard to quality of rooms, food and apologize for the miscommunication on our front desk's part.

Wish to serve you soon at Hotel Monsoon.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

1. Hotel could not give timely check-in
2. Room is too small then expected.. hardly any room to even stand still.
3. Tried to bill for water when the booking said one bottle complimentary each day.
4. Only hotel ever seen. (Being myself a hotelier) to bill guests for stains on bed sheets.
5. Breakfast has the same menu every day.
6. Your voice will be clearly audible outside the room.
7. Rooms are not separated by concrete walls but by ply board..

Reason why I choose this hotel

1. Central location (Police Bazar)
2. Hot water (which is available in all hotels here)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm_Hotel_Monsoon, General Manager at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for proving your feedback on this forum and also giving us an opportunity to revert with the entire picture. Being a hotelier, we trust that you would be aware of the following:
1. That standard check-in time is 2pm. We could not give you a timely check-in as we welcomed you at 10.30am without prior intimation and tried our best to provide you your room in 25 minutes of your arrival.
2. We apologise for the miscommunication with regard to asking you for charges for a bottle of water.
3. Being a hotelier yourself, you would appreciate that linen with Blood stains cannot be reused and provided to guests and that if a guest damaged an asset of your hotel, you would be well within your right to charge a nominal amount for the same.
4. Your stay with us was for 2 nights but breakfast served was the same. We would be glad to take this opportunity to notify that Hotel Monsoon is the only budget hotel in the entire vicinity to provide complimentary breakfast and Main Course items are changed each day. Cereal, Beverages and Live Eggs to order counter remain the same thou.
5. You also mentioned that "Rooms are not separated by concrete walls but by ply board". It also would be worth a note that your room was on the second floor and that a building cannot possibly stand on ply boards.

While we encourage constructive and genuine feedback, we realise that most of your feedback is derived due to the fact the you were ultimately charged for damage of linen. We assure you that we try our best to provide quality service and experience to our patrons within a budget and our repeat guests for years is a testimony to the same.

Do feel free to share any other feedback or write in on your next visit to Shillong at gm.hotelmonsoon@gmail.com. I would be glad to get the opportunity to personally ensure that you have a pleasant stay and help experience the best of Hotel Monsoon.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
for Team Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent ambience,situated at the Police baazar..opposite SBI Shillong,GS road branch.. Neat and clean room,the foods ar reasonable and awesome.Complementary breakfast. I travelled there with my friends... Enjoyed a lot. The staffs are very good and friendly.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm_Hotel_Monsoon, General Manager at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon with your friends and sharing a super feedback as a token of your appreciation. We are glad that you liked the conduct of our team, cleanliness of our rooms, taste and pricing of our food offerings and that we played a role in making your experience in Shillong enjoyable.

Would be nice to re-welcome you soon.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Team Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Great staff, real shower and for the cash best value easily on this trip. I've been to India numerous times and this joint excels, everything works and the staff even came to remind me that breakfast was closing soon.thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geldy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm_Hotel_Monsoon, General Manager at Monsoon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your trip to Shillong. It is a matter of pride for our team that we ticked all parameters to make your stay comfortable and value based.

We strive to serve your patrons and provide them such an experience and Thank you for sharing your feedback on this forum.

Would be great to serve you again sometime soon..

Best Regards,
General Manager
for Team Hotel Monsoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#2 of 24 in Shillong
293 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#13 of 24 in Shillong
18 reviews
2.1 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
516 reviews
1.1 km away
OYO 4276 AM Bed and Breakfast
1.5 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 24 in Shillong
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon

Address: G.S. Road Police Bazar, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: €22 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monsoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a budget stay in Shillong right in the nucleus of Shillong? Hotel Monsoon is your pick. Hotel Monsoon is Shillong's Best Budget hotel option with cosy rooms, complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access, a bottle of packaged drinking water, TataSky Digi Cable, Daily Housekeeping, Room Service, Restaurant and travel assistance as its prime facilities. All this in the heart of the town at a reasonable value point. If its a no-frills value stay option that you are looking for in the vicinity, Hotel Monsoon is would be your choice.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Monsoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing