We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, gud people to live with”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
jaipur
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“great food, gud people to live with”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

the byke was a surprise for my family as we found it extremely matching our taste. wt u want in a vacation- rain dance, pool, disco, spa----they have it all. Food served is totally vegetarian n they have a nice cook. It is one of the oldest heritage property of matheran. It is near sherlotte lake so u cn enjoy evening walks to lake easily.

Room Tip: Reach at matheran before 9 pm to avoid walking on foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naveenjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    95
    50
    16
    20
See reviews for
106
61
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Well the experience started the moment we landed. My friend Siddhartha had booked a room for 3 guys at their Mumbai Office for Rs.15K (2N), but the reception charged us Rs.17K. We agreed, one because it was around 10:00 in the night and we sort of liked the place.

We were quite impressed by the place but were equally taken aback with the bad service. People were missing two important facets of the service industry - courtesy and an urge to provide fine service. To make things worse, there was a cockroach found in one of the desserts!! One of the groups from Mumbai who had a sizeable Jain population was so aghast that they lodged a police complaint. Neither the owner nor the manager were relenting or apologetic.

Its quite overpriced for the place, but had they provided good service, it would be worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayGoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Bykes has one of good location in Matheran in terms of view, but those travelling with senoir citizens is not recommended as it is quite far from station and market. The rooms are not in good state very damp and creepy. The resort is overpriced. However, the food was excellent ofcourse only for vegetarians as Byke doesnt serve Non veg food.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiyushJalandhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Failing to deliver on its never-ending list of promises, The Byke is a downright disappointment to anyone who has any basic civic sense.

Our excitement over the long Independence Day weekend turned into a nightmare within the first few minutes of entering the hotel. The bed sheets wreaked of urine as did the bathroom, passed off by housekeeping as a usual occurrence in the monsoon season - really?? We never expected luxury (even though we spent Rs 16,000 for two nights) but a nice, comfortable and CLEAN room. What we got in return was anything but that... Our first hint should probably have been the advertisement stating uninterrupted power supply - it was anything but uninterrupted. Constant power cuts, unhygienic living conditions, long waiting lines for meals, loud and uncouth families made this over-crowded resort and more importantly, our promised weekend of tranquil, a horrible experience.

The saving grace - great friends, good laughs, locked doors and of the scenic beauty of Matheran. I will go back to Matheran but I will never go back to the Byke and I would encourage no one else to do so if you want a weekend of peace and quiet. If you don't mind noise, lack of hygiene and nudging, then this is the right place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Matheran hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Byke may have been beautiful once and still has some remnants of former glory. But the place is completely run down and there seems to be no effort being made to maintain what remains.

Despite some really amazing pictures on the website - this summarizes our room:
- The bedsheets/matress smelled quite strongly of urine, and despite the management's assurance that the sheets had been changed, we made them change it again.
- The bathroom also had a strong urine smell and the walls were filthy, as was the bucket stool which was black with grime.
- The paint was peeling off the walls and had a really damp smell to it.

Contrary to the advertised 24-hour uninterrupted power supply, the electricity went off VERY often and that led to the TV in our room not working properly, we finally had to ask for a new one which they found in about 2 hours.

The hotel also had a LARGE party of people celebrating some event while we were there. Instead of making alternative arrangements for that party's dinner/lunch meals, they were allowed to eat at the main buffet where other guests were eating leading to large delays and no space in the dining room. At one meal, we asked the staff to deliver food to our room because we got fed up of waiting for space.

Cleanliness is really not a priority at this hotel, and though the staff's service was passable, this is really not a place we would recommend to other people if you're looking for a RELAXED, stress-free holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine0685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.8 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.8 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#210 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
25.7 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
15.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Heritage - Matheran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Heritage - Matheran

Property: The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Address: M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Heritage - Matheran 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byke is Matheran's first dwelling place. Built in 1854 by the discoverer of Matheran, Hugh Malet, then Collector of Thane , it is a heritage building that still stands majestically in all its pristine glory, personifying a heritage unparalleled, surrounded by the inheritance of 7 sprawling acres. In this wooded estate the first luxury Resort of Matheran, The Byke- A Hotel Retreat, has been blended with nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Byke Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing