We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
906
395
103
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
906
395
103
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine shuttle wine tour local wineries state park wine country indoor and outdoor pools horizons restaurant family room fire pit walking trails great weekend breakfast buffet girls weekend the cottages hot tub shuttle service winery
Filter
Updating list...
1,304 - 1,309 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for a class reunion. The weekend was wonderful. We had hospitality rooms on Friday and Saturday just outside the pool area. Everyone brought lawn chairs to catch up with classmates. Our room was on third floor with a great view of pool/lake. The room was large with king size bed and seating area. We were pleased to have a refrigerator also. It was a very nice accommodation for the weekend.

Took advantage of our free time and walked by the lake/marina. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Everyone we met were extremely nice. We had the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning. It was delicious. Staff in restaurant were very friendly and accommodating. On Saturday evening we had a catered dinner in one of the banquet rooms. Food was good, again staff very good.

We are from Ohio but this area was new to us. While the "strip" is what it is, we felt there were a lot of families and everyone was pleasant. The wineries were very interesting. We enjoyed several of them. This is a great place for a get-a-way trip. We would return.

Room Tip: We received a little discount for booking with a larger block of rooms. Felt the rate was a little high, but accommodations were very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernisuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and 2 small children recently stayed for 3 nights at The Lodge. We opted for the lake view room and were glad that we did. We were on the bottom floor so had a walk-out patio with a couple of chairs and a small table. We enjoyed sitting outside and watching the lake. Our kids had a nice grassy area to play in plus the gazebo. To the left you can see the restaurant with outdoor seating but not at all noisy. There were benches all along the walking path by the lake. Again, very nice to sit on the benches to watch the lake. Also, there are beautiful sunsets!

All employees were very nice, our room was clean. It was a nice surprise that our room had a Keurig coffee maker. If I'd have known, I would have brought extra coffee from home but there was also complementary coffee each morning by the restaurant.

The Horizons restaurant was average. We thought it was a bit pricey for the quality of food received. We only dined there once.

The gift shop sells local Ohio wines, wine glasses and other accessories. I would definitely recommend trying the wines and visiting the wineries.

If you are traveling with children, The Lodge has an indoor pool that starts at 2 ft so its great for small children. There is also an outdoor pool (I think starts at 3 ft.), a splash pad and 2 hot tubs. There is also a nice playground area. The "strip" is within walking distance and has several mini-golf courses, arcades, water slides, restaurants, etc.

Overall, my family had a great time! Our only concern was the price of the food in all of the restaurants that we went to. We brought snacks with us and had a refrigerator in our room so that did save a little on the food costs.

I hope this review will be helpful.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OSU_MOM_OF_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The staff was friendly enough at check-in, but don't try before 3 PM. Weddings in the hotel, and bachelorette party across from our room. If you are a light sleeper, if you are near the elevators don't plan on sleeping before Midnight. The music from the bar sounds like it is just outside your door. Front desk mans the gift shop so if they are busy don't be in a hurry. For the price, the room is average, the TV is terrible. The shower had hair in it too. Nice walking trails along the lake, other than that I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try for lake view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at this lodge during December for our wedding anniversary. We booked the sweetheart package that included a bottle of wine and breakfast. The breakfast vouchers included gratuity. It seemed as if the breakfast staff felt they did not need to earn the gratuity because they were rude and not very accommodating.
We were sat at a table that did not have silverware, were never offered silverware, had to take it from another table. I drank coffee but only got one cup because once we ordered the buffet our server never came back.
I sent an email in regards to this but never received anything in return. In the hospitality industry customer service should be your number one priority not just another voucher. I work in management in this industry and would have probably left additional gratuity for good service. I however, do not reward poor service.

On a good note the person working the front desk was great. She was friendly and helpful.

Other than that I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captfred412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasiy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Captfred412-
Thank you for choosing The Lodge for your anniversary stay last December! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the Sweetheart package as well as our front desk service. Though it is disheartening to hear that your service in the restaurant was not as stellar as your front desk service.

We do appreciate all of our guests in the restaurant weather they arrive with package vouchers or as leisure guests or have just stopped in for a meal. Each and every guest is just as important as the next. Though it has been some time since your visit, I have shared your comments with our executive team so we can ensure that all guests are receiving proper service all year long; voucher or no voucher!

Seeing as it’s been more than 6 months since your stay let me share what has changed! We do have a new Chef with great new menu items, a focus on local produce, healthy options and even calorie listings on the menu! We also have a great staff willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests and a great manager who has worked her way up from the kitchen to serving to management and can fully understand each aspect of the jobs in the restaurant.

We hope you will visit again to experience all f the improvements we have made and look forward to sharing your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night, and though the room was very clean, the decor is not even as good as a Holiday Inn equivalent. We found the check-in/out times incovenient (check in not til 4 p.m and check-out at 11:00 a.m.)

The dining room is lovely but poorly managed. Even with a dinner reservation we waited for a table (Those without a reservation waited an inordinately long time) but, guess what, when we were finally admitted to the dining room we discovered that only a few tables were occupied. With so many empty tables, we have no idea why everyone was waiting to be seated.

We are not inclined to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank appleka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasiy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

appleka2-
Thank you for your response. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our lodge-feel décor when you stayed. The check-in and check-out times are industry standard in our area and coincide closely with all hotels.

Thank you for the compliment on the décor in the restaurant, we are very proud of the look as well as our service. Though many of the tables may have appeared empty inside, you may have noticed that our outdoor patio is packed this time of year.

As we provide service to both simultaneously, we sometimes ask guests to wait in the waiting area rather than placing them at a table and not providing proper service from the very start of your active dining experience. We did find that business has picked up even more during August and are already in the process of hiring additional staff to finish out the warm season- great news!

With the additional servers and bar tenders, we will again e providing the quick and quality service our guests are accustomed to when they visit Horizons Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews