We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place very near to sea, best budget option with comfortable cottages”
Review of Dolphin Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked a delux cottage. Since we are basically from chennai, we booked in advance in their chennai office by part payment.
We reached port blair at 1pm and proceeded to havelock the same day 2pm fast ferry, which we got tickets in advance through a agent. Reached around 4.30pm.
Cottages are just in front of blue sea, however, in low tides it is not elegant.
Hotel people did not give any extra bed since we were 3, we asked 1 extra bed which is very common every where. They told they have stopped giving extra bed, but allowed 3 without any extra charge, and delux room was comfortable for 3.
Food was decent, Rs.100 for buffet dinner. Just like food in govt. guest houses.
Makesure u get return ticket in advance becaz we struggled a lot with lot of undisciplined Q next day and spoiled our plan to elephant beach, however we went to radhanagar and had good time for atleast 2 hrs.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 387 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Went to Havelock to sign up for a scuba-diving course .
We - husband and I - stayed at the Dolphin Resort , a government-owned place very close to Dive-India , our scuba-place . We were given a sea.front room - one of the cute-cute-cute pastel cottages dotted amongst the trees - but the cute-cute ended there . The room was enormous - airconditioned , dressing area , sitting area , dining furniture , nice bathroom - but NO WINDOWS looking out to the sea !!!

INCREDIBLE !!!

The windows were smallish - one looked out onto a scrubby bit of garden , one looked out at the canteen/restaurant place . The decor and furnishings were dull and ugly and painfully government-issue - what a pity . At least it was clean - quite clean .
Luckily we had a small sit-out with two chairs and could use that for our lolling .

The 'restaurant' is more of a canteen or a mess - flat rates , fixed buffet menus . Pedestrian food but not bad at all - all Indian food so you have to be able to eat it three times a day and not tire of it . You have to inform the staff in advance if you are going to eat there - and we ended up eating there very often . Every breakfast and lunch - diving really exhausts you and it was nice to have hot , unlimited food , available really quickly .
Dinner was always out - we would drive off on our little Scooty , hired from the shop at the gate of Dolphin ( Bappa , 250/day ) - and try out the food at various places .
The inhabited bit of Havelock is tiny but we managed to find quite a few nice places .

Emerald Gecko , Red Snapper , Barefoot Bar , Silver Sands - all have good food .
The cheapest - and very very good fish - was a shack at the market square ( beach number 3 , village number 1 ? ) . highly recommended .

Room Tip: Try and get the sea-front rooms - the sit-outs have great views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meerameerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

You have to book well in advance to get the rooms here. They accept only DD for advance booking. Unfortunately I couldn't get Deluxe room here. I stayed in standard room. Its government resort, so price is very reasonable. The location is excellent. But place is not maintained well. Room which I got was not very good. It needed renovation very badly. Room service is not very good. phone was not working!! It has some termite problem also on doors. Restaurant is also not good. You have to book in well advance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhaval7884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel has a great beach front but is not at all kept well. Service is non existant - food is limited at only particular times and you need to order a meal in advance. So if you want Dinner please tell them at lunch time. Rooms are dirty not kept well half the things dont function. When we arrived we could not get lunch as we had not ordered for it at Lunch time from our previous location so we had to walk out and go to a roadside shack and have eggs and bread.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

dolphin resort was right on hte beach and has cottages. main issues were cleanliness of the rooms, poor quality of bedding (lumpy matresses), indifferent staff and below average food. easily one of the best properties if looked after. for dining requirements use the resturants at wild orchid, emerald gecko and full mon cafe at island vinnes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
2.8 km away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 13 in Havelock Island
559 reviews
0.8 km away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 13 in Havelock Island
591 reviews
1.2 km away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Havelock Island
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 13 in Havelock Island
402 reviews
19.3 km away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
408 reviews
7.5 km away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 13 in Havelock Island
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Resort

Address: Vijaynagar Beach, Havelock Island, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Havelock Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Havelock Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: €56 - €57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Havelock Island
Dolphin Resort Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing