We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
248
175
46
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
175
46
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews semi deluxe government property andaman tourism deluxe rooms sea facing vijaynagar beach tourism department booking procedure govt run private beach super deluxe non veg the cottages vijay nagar beach place to stay rooms are big excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Went to Havelock to sign up for a scuba-diving course .
We - husband and I - stayed at the Dolphin Resort , a government-owned place very close to Dive-India , our scuba-place . We were given a sea.front room - one of the cute-cute-cute pastel cottages dotted amongst the trees - but the cute-cute ended there . The room was enormous - airconditioned , dressing area , sitting area , dining furniture , nice bathroom - but NO WINDOWS looking out to the sea !!!

INCREDIBLE !!!

The windows were smallish - one looked out onto a scrubby bit of garden , one looked out at the canteen/restaurant place . The decor and furnishings were dull and ugly and painfully government-issue - what a pity . At least it was clean - quite clean .
Luckily we had a small sit-out with two chairs and could use that for our lolling .

The 'restaurant' is more of a canteen or a mess - flat rates , fixed buffet menus . Pedestrian food but not bad at all - all Indian food so you have to be able to eat it three times a day and not tire of it . You have to inform the staff in advance if you are going to eat there - and we ended up eating there very often . Every breakfast and lunch - diving really exhausts you and it was nice to have hot , unlimited food , available really quickly .
Dinner was always out - we would drive off on our little Scooty , hired from the shop at the gate of Dolphin ( Bappa , 250/day ) - and try out the food at various places .
The inhabited bit of Havelock is tiny but we managed to find quite a few nice places .

Emerald Gecko , Red Snapper , Barefoot Bar , Silver Sands - all have good food .
The cheapest - and very very good fish - was a shack at the market square ( beach number 3 , village number 1 ? ) . highly recommended .

Room Tip: Try and get the sea-front rooms - the sit-outs have great views .
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meerameerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

You have to book well in advance to get the rooms here. They accept only DD for advance booking. Unfortunately I couldn't get Deluxe room here. I stayed in standard room. Its government resort, so price is very reasonable. The location is excellent. But place is not maintained well. Room which I got was not very good. It needed renovation very badly. Room service is not very good. phone was not working!! It has some termite problem also on doors. Restaurant is also not good. You have to book in well advance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhaval7884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel has a great beach front but is not at all kept well. Service is non existant - food is limited at only particular times and you need to order a meal in advance. So if you want Dinner please tell them at lunch time. Rooms are dirty not kept well half the things dont function. When we arrived we could not get lunch as we had not ordered for it at Lunch time from our previous location so we had to walk out and go to a roadside shack and have eggs and bread.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

dolphin resort was right on hte beach and has cottages. main issues were cleanliness of the rooms, poor quality of bedding (lumpy matresses), indifferent staff and below average food. easily one of the best properties if looked after. for dining requirements use the resturants at wild orchid, emerald gecko and full mon cafe at island vinnes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The dolphin Resort in Havelock island is the best location in whole of island. As this is owned by A&N Govt.it is not at all being maintained where as this location Resort can mint money for the Govt. If the property can have some type of Joint venture. Food in the resturaunt is fixed menu very ordinary. Rooms are very airy but could be maintained in a much better way. In my advice stay in this resort and enjoy the scenic beauty but have food in the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Subhash1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews