We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Italian in Cleveland!”

Mama Catena Vino e' Cucina
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Euclid
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We’re back.. Exactly one year ago today our restaurant suffered a horrific Fire. All was lost in the fire. Thanks to our commitment, persistent, passion for our Restaurant and love for our customers we have opened our doors once again. Just like the Phoenix we have risen back and have overcome all obstacles in order to pursue what we love doing most. Cooking delicious, authentic, mouthwatering dishes and pairing them with full bodied robust Italian wines for you our customers to enjoy! Stop by and check out our new space and our menu with that old familiar comforting and welcoming feel! Come visit Italy with a swirl of your glass... in a warm and cozy atmosphere while Mama & Papa share their stories and our attentive staff spoils you... Rina C. Manager
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

This was the best Italian meal we have had in a very long time, both in Cleveland and around the US. If you eat anything it has to be the lasagna, my husband thought it was the best he has ever had. My kids got the cheese pizza, they thought it was delicious. I ordered the pasta with shrimp and garlic and oil, the homemade noodles are fantastic! We ended with dessert, my husband had an amazing tiramisu and the limoncello gelato I ordered was perfect for a warm summer evening. Best of all was the service, it is a family run restaurant, they were so sweet and welcoming. We will definitely be back, we went to Chinato last week, paid twice as much for food half as good...you have to try Mama Catena’s!!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Felecia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Beautifully decorated dining room. Completely renovated . Nice to see the authentic photos on the walls. New tables and place settings add to the ambiance and decor. Owners are welcoming and service friendly. So many delicious choices on the new menu. Loved the stuffed artichoke appetizer and the arancini , caponatini were fantastic. Caprese salad was so fresh with huge , tasty tomatoes and basil. Pasta is expertly sauced. The eggplant was the best we'd ever had! The desserts were out of this world. Tiramisu was outstanding and the cannoli shells were crisp with not too sweet filling. Try the gelato limoncello served with prosecco.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Clapper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We visited Mama Catena in June of 2018 because they had just opened. It was remodeled and extremely different than the old restaurant in decor and style--nice and modern!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank GidgetPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Where Mama Catena is not the perfect atmosphere for entertaining clients the food will not disappoint. We were on the way to catch a flight so thought we would get something quick. We would have liked to have spent hours more.
The bruschetta was delightful the buffalo mozzarella smooth and delicious. We only had vegetarian pasta dishes on this visit and they fresh and perfectly prepared. The staff could not have been nicer. Where I don’t get to Cleveland often I’ll be back and I’ll be hungry!!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank billf563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Closed by a fire in 2016 after nearly 30 years in business, Mama Catena's has risen from those ashes better than ever before! From the freshly baked 'pane all'aglio' to the mouth-watering 'zuppa di lasagna', Mama Catena's delivers Italian cuisine with uniquely authentic old world 'bravata' in every course. Their house 'insalata' (with fresh mozzarella, kalamata olives, sliced pepperoni, grape tomatoes, iceberg lettuce, cucumbers, in homemade dressings) puts to shame the customary house salad served with entrees elsewhere. Aside from having nearly 20 types of pasta (including gluten-free options) from which to choose, there are also a dozen different sauces. My wife chose 'Rosella' (a subtle blend of marinara and alfredo) that left her 'wowing' with every forkful. For my part, I chose the zestier 'Puttanesca' sauce (marinara with garlic, capers, and kalamata olives) which exceeded even my heightened expectations. The veal cutlets were tender, tasty, smothered with mozzarella and tomato sauce, as was the chicken parmigiana. With generous portions, we carried out our lunches for tomorrow. However, as 'delizioso' as the food is, and as classy as the new decor is, what most sets Mama Catena's apart is the fact that Mama's is all about 'famiglia.' Mama and Papa Catena, along with their adult children (Fran and husband Steve), stop by each table to make certain everything is 'perfetto.' All of the Catena family and staff (Rita, John, TJ) attended to us as though we were family. In Mama Catena's, we have a new favorite place for special meals --- either a special occasion or when our taste buds simply crave the extraordinary!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GJMiller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Catena Vino e' Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Mama Catena Vino e' Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing