We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
114
118
47
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
118
47
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hueston woods gift shop outdoor pool state park nature center fire pit main lobby miami university breakfast buffet dvd player family reunion common areas swim meet corn hole mini fridge lake view horseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

This should be a 100 a night tops. I have stayed in Westins in CA for cheaper. Old carpet and furniture in common areas. Chipping paint on walls and ceilings. Dark, dumpy rooms. Unfortunately there aren’t many choices when visiting Miami U in Oxford.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ColumbusTravelers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. All the carpet was replaced within the last year and the facility was also painted within the last few months. Unfortunately, we are a State Park facility and make upgrades and improvements as State funds allow. Thank you again for your feedback. I truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We needed a getaway and Hueston Woods Lodge was a great choice for us! The room was very comfy-cozy and very clean. We had a lakeview room with a balcony. The weather was overcast and a bit rainy so it was nice to be able to sit on the covered balcony and listen to the rain and watch the bids soaring over the lake. There was an indoor pool (the outside one closed as it is Oct). There was also a game room and a beautiful large gathering room with a huge fireplace. The restaurant in the lodge was wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious meal in front of another large fireplace. The service was perfect. Everyone was so friendly!! It was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature!

Room tip: We really liked having a lake view room. It seemed more private.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Decided to stay at the Lodge while we were hiking at Hueston woods park. The park is so beautiful and I would recommend that others enjoy the woods, lake Acton, marina and beach areas. Hiking thru the woods will help anyone seeking to de-stress from work. Saw a deer on one of our hikes. Front desk was helpful. Sept-oct lower room rates. Apple butter festival this coming weekend. Room was clean and updated so not dark and dingy like other older lodges. 2 sinks, 2 queen beds, small refrigerator, and microwave in room. breakfast not included in room rate which hotels typically include. Dinner in Lodge was average. Smoked turkey was very good. Salad w grilled chicken was bland would not get this again. Prices were $10-$20 range. Child dinner was available. Better dinner variety available in Oxford, OH which is 15 min south of the Lodge. Overall enjoyed our room and stay. 4 stars out of 5.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank indy500kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We had planned a golf trip with an overnite stay at the Hueston Woods Lodge this year. The Lodge was welcoming and warm with its rustic decor and woodsy environment as well as a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms we were told had been updated with more modern amenties and decor. Our room overlooked the beautiful lake. The room was very clean with the usual amenities, and the beds were so comfortable with soft sheets and several bed pillows. The bathroom was large with an ample supply of fluffy towels/washclothes. I especially enjoyed the fragrance of the lotions and soaps that were provided The food served in the lodge's restaurant, we thought, was just "so-so". The "hole-in-the-wall" bar was a disappointment with only 5 bar stools and a few tables and chairs. We were flabbergasted to see that happy hour was only a "1/2 hour" happy hour. Yes, a 30 minute happy hour of only specific drinks on the happy hour menu....and nothing we would have wanted. On a walk around the lodge, I noted that there were many activities that lodgers could do...basket ball, tennis, corn hole etc. There were also several fire pits with chairs surrounding them. Inside, there was a game room, a nice gift shop, and a coffee bar. Apparently, the coffee bar hours were limited, but there was coffee available in the lobby, which I appreciated! Since the outdoor pool was closed for the season, we did enjoy the indoor pool. All-in-all we very much enjoyed our short stay at the lodge!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bobettern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

My place of employment hosted a two-day conference at the Hueston Woods Lodge in September, 2018. We were all very impressed with the accommodations across the board! Most notable was the food buffets. I've eaten in state and national park lodges all over Ohio and the USA. The food in the lodge restaurant was BY FAR the most superior I've had in any park lodge anywhere. Without exception, everything served to our group over two days (four meals) was outstanding. Additionally, the rooms were lovely and clean, the views were wonderful and relaxing, and the ambiance of the place was terrific. I had never been to this lodge as a guest before and you can be sure I will return with my family. Highly recommend as a getaway spot for a business retreat or family vacation!

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank AAmyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews