We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We generally have a high regard for this chain so we were disappointed. Here is the good and bad

Good
Extremely friendly staff that treats you like family. The managers are all warm and friendly and handle all requests to your satisfaction. I also thought the fitness center was decent with big towels. I also liked the 2 pm check out time extended to me.

Bad
- Only valet parking at $ 18.- daily. Best bet is to get a 7 day parking pass for garage # 1. This cost $ 30. Two blocks walking is not a problem for us.
- The building is getting warn down and needs retooling. The toilet broke down 3 times and the refrigerator leaked on the floor. The carpeting has stains and the cocktail table in LR was in bad shape.
- The A/C did not work well and the control is in a very bad location behind a lamp.
- The self serve laundromat was very expensive and only 2 machines working.
- Breakfast is extra and I found the dishes were often dirty.

My suggestion to readers is to go to the Holiday Inn next door which was newer and much cheaper. This means an extra 75 yard walk to the Cleveland Clinic, but you have use of the parking lot next door on weekends.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnd227, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear bsorge,

I would like to start by saying thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking some time to provide us with a review. It’s nice to know that you liked our Fitness Center and appreciated a late check out as well as the courteous nature of all staff.

I am disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction in some areas however. My sincerest apologies that you had some mechanical issues in your room as well as in the laundromat. Also, I am very sorry about the issue you had at breakfast but please be assured that this has been addressed with my team. I appreciate that you have allowed us an opportunity to work on these issues and I do hope that we will have a future opportunity to make this up to you. Please feel free to give me a call if you would like to discuss these items with me further or if there is anything I can do to help. My number is 216-707-4200. I humbly await your call.

Sincerely,
Moussa Ndiaye
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Overall excellent experience. Very attentive service from the car park valet, to front desk, to restaurant. The room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Proximity to hospital was excellent! I will stay here again if I need to go back to Cleveland Clinic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1BR suite which was very spacious and well laid-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherice H, Administrative Assistant to the Hotel Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Gregory G

Thank you for taking some time to post an online review of your stay with our InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland. We are happy that you appreciated the attention you received from our staff and the modernity and comfort of our rooms. It is great to hear that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return.

Warm Regards,
Sherice Holmes
Administrative Assistant to the Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We were in town visiting a family member at the Cleveland Clinic. We prepaid for a suite for 4 days, 5 nights. It was pretty pricey at over $170/night. We could have gone to Holiday Inn next door (which I was tempted to do) but opted for this hotel because of the suite layout. Sadly, that was the best pro for staying here. Also, our PRE-PAID suite room was given away before we checked in. The hotel host did give us free breakfast the next day and promised to change our room the next day. Here's our experience:

PRO - suite layout with living area, large bathroom space, friendly staff, room was cleaned very well, WIFI was free, literally across the street from the Cleveland Clinic

CON - paper thin walls (we heard EVERYTHING from doors opening to people dropping things), mold in grout in the bathtub, no free breakfast, everything seemed outdated, carpets didn't feel too clean, no fan in bathroom, bed is uncomfortable, $18/day for valet which service can be slow sometimes and it was just a hassle to have to wait for your car every single time

Again, not terrible but at $170/night --- you did not get what you paid for. We've stayed at nicer luxury hotels for a much more affordable price!

Room Tip: Do NOT choose room 420. Right under and over maintenance rooms. You will hear creeking doors open an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andreaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnd227, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear andreaylo,

Let me start by apologizing that your time with us was less than pleasant and that you did not perceive value for your stay. I would love to speak with you regarding the issues you endured, at your convenience. Please give me a call at 216-707-4200. I humbly await your call and again I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

Sincerely,
Moussa Ndiaye
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We stayed at the hotel during four-days while my husband was being evaluated by the Cleveland Clinic. The hotel is extremely comfortable: rooms are spacious, and service is both competent and friendly. We stayed on the club floor, where the extra price includes breakfast, all-day coffee, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in the evening, and a comfortable lounge area -- a most welcome amenity. Club hostess Antoinette Peterson is an especially kind and welcoming presence there. My husband was using a wheelchair, and the skybridge offered convenient direct access to the Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate0838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cleveland at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Kate0838,

Thank you for staying recently at the InterContinental Cleveland, and for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your husband were able to find the care and comfort at our hotel that you were looking for, and that you enjoyed our Club Lounge on the 14th Floor and the service provided there. I appreciate as well you recognizing Antoinette for her warm and welcoming service. She is truly a remarkable colleague whom sets the example for the rest of our team of caregivers to follow. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels take you to Cleveland.

All the best,

Chris Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
InterContinental Cleveland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We've been to Cleveland Clinic many times and stayed at many places--all of which were fine--but none that compared to this hotel. The air was fresh, the place spotless, food served that was delicious and beautifully prepared as well as healthy. The rooms were quiet, spacious, flexible for various needs, sensitive to a guest's different needs. Staff wasn't just courteous but unusually responsive to a visitor's needs too. A+ from here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jillcO6194PX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherice H, Administrative Assistant to the Hotel Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear jillcO6194PX,

It is wonderful to know that you found our InterContinental Suites Hotel to be an extraordinary place to stay. My team will be truly touched by your gracious remarks and I thank you on their behalf for sharing this review publicly. I hope that you will be back to see us soon so that we may provide you with another five-star experience.

Warm Regards,
Sherice Holmes
Administrative Assistant to the Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.6 km away
InterContinental Hotel Cleveland
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
5.6 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
Holiday Inn Cleveland Clinic
#22 of 38 in Cleveland
202 reviews
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
5.7 km away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: €118 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing