We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite liked this Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glidden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quite liked this Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Rented the single queen bed sized room, plenty of space for a couple. Most rooms are located at the rear of the historic section in a modern addition. Nicely appointed bedroom, well maintained and provided with normal amenities, but no fridge. Public rooms are in the main section of original historic house and are lovely. They've retained many of the original moldings and carved paneling. Stylish bar area at the back of first floor has seating set up in small groupings; there's a garden room with tables for breakfast. The cosy oak-paneled dining room has a fireplace, also used for breakfast (which is included in room rate).
Staff was very friendly and helpful, loaned us a wine bottle opener, provided driving directions.
Only complaint was that breakfast could have been improved...oatmeal was over cooked and seemed like wallpaper paste, omelettes tasted too much of margarine, not of eggs and cheese as labeled.
Located a stone's throw from the Botanical Garden and Art Museum.

Room Tip: Did not check out the historic suites on upper floors of the historic house...might be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    174
    42
    21
    16
See reviews for
138
258
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Yes, I confess, I am one of theose people who look at the corners in the bathroom to see if someone really cleans. At the Glidden house they do, and I loved the care that was in every detail. Staff iare friendly in an honest and sincere way like they actually like what they do. And the breakfast ( with the exception of the eggs) was really good. I especially appreciated the well made coffee and the mixture of fresh strawberries and blueberries. Oh and the 3 newspaperes, one for every taste.
This hotel is also walking distance from museums and such so you could have a lovely time in spring or summer.
Absolutely will be there again. This will be our go-to hotel in Cleveland.

Room Tip: We had one of the less expensive modern rooms and it was just fine. There are more expensive "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gungadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Spent one night and loved every minute. The room was comfortable and very clean.The staff were friendly and the breakfast selection was very good. The location is ideal. We are already making plans to go back.

Room Tip: Since this was my first time can only tell you that I stayed in Room 301 and I slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmington Hills MI
Level Contributor
199 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here during a business trip and was in for a treat. I was immediately greeted when I pulled up in front with an offer to assist with my luggage.
The person who checked me in was friendly and helpful. As others have said, the lobby and eating area are lovely. The room was average in size, and clean with comfy beds. Wi-fi worked very well. I saw that they were making some renovations and installing new carpet which is a good thing.
The staff was friendly, and helpful with providing directions when I needed to drive to another part of town. I think their service was a strong point during my stay.
The breakfast was ample and tasty-there were some hot offerings too, and I enjoyed their homemade oatmeal.
This was a great location and while here, I enjoyed a delicious dinner at L'Albatros nearby and then a concert at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Once my work was finished for the day, it felt like a mini-vacation. I look forward to staying here on upcoming business trips-it is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
216 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just across the Street from the university library and close to the Botanical Garden, this is a carefully tended hotel that feels more like an inn that it does a big rooming house. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suites offer additional room for stretching out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quiinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
7.1 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
7.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
7.4 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
6.6 km away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House

Property: Glidden House
Address: 1901 Ford Dr, Cleveland, OH 44106-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer. The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glidden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing