We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understand why they have all the "excellence awards" in their display case!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2016

My hubby and I went to Poland to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we had reservations at a Bed and Breakfast there. Imagine our shock and surprise when we arrived to find it closed down and sold to a new owner! Nobody had bothered to call and let us know any of this so we drove about 3 hours to get there plus the fact that we already paid up front with a Living Social deal. So there we were in a new town, not knowing anything about any of the hotels, etc. and we came across the Holiday Inn Express in Boardman. From the moment we walked in the front door we were treated warmly and when the front desk asked us what brought us to that area we explained our situation and Sherri (who works at the front desk) walked over and handed us a $ 20.00 coupon for free breakfasts the next morning. When we asked where was a good place to eat they told us about their in house restaurant TJ's and it was excellent! That evening we had an appetizer of two different flavors of wings (Garlic was great) and Buffalo, we each had a mixed drink, I had the haddock which you could have either baked, broiled, batter fried or Cajun style and the two pieces I had were huge. They also came with either a bowl of soup or salad (I had the salad) and a baked potato. My hubby had a salad and supreme flatbread pizza which he said was really good. and a loaf of really good homemade bread. We really wanted to get a dessert because they looked so good but we were just too full. My hubby ordered a bottle of champagne to take back to our room and they gave us two wine glasses to go with it. All of that including the champagne and our bill was a little over $ 70.00 and the champagne itself was $ 32.00 a bottle so their prices at the restaurant were very reasonable! The next morning Sherri was again working at the front desk and greeted us warmly when we came down to breakfast. She asked us what our plans were for the day and I told her we were planning on visiting the Mill Creek Metro Park. When we checked out she had printed out directions on how to get to Lanterman's Mill which we really enjoyed hiking and then more directions on how to get from Lanterman's Mill to the Fellows Riverside Gardens, We felt Sherri and all the other employees at the front desk and restaurant went above and beyond to help us have a great stay. They have a trophy case in their lobby full of trophies and awards the hotel has earned throughout the years and it is obvious to see why they received them. I would recommend this place to all!!

Room Tip: This hotel is convenient to lots of chain restaurants but give their restaurant TJ's a try~I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tigercar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Seems like a good example of - although things don't always go as planned, it doesn't mean you can't have good results! You should be commended that you did not let this unexpected detour ruin your anniversary plans. Glad that we could be a part of it & I bet you would have a great anniversary wherever you went. Nothing was going to stop you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

I got a room for my daughters honeymoon. The hotel has a nice little bar. They were so accommodating and got champagne and roses and went out of there way to put pedals down and make the room nice. Even though it wasn't the honeymoon suite the room was huge and gorgeous. We gathered the morning of for breakfast. All the bridesmaids and moms and it was really good and for 12 people the bill was very reasonable. The whole hotel was immaculate. There were baseball teams or other groups with a bunch of kids and we didn't even know they where there. I would highly recommend this hotel for a day or a week. It's in the middle of town and there's lots around for bars food movies shopping. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank froggeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Weddings are such an important day. Glad it seemed to go well and that you liked the hotel. Also glad you enjoyed our restaurant. We love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I want to give Mel (at the Front Desk) an excellent, 5 star review. I travel for a living giving seminars in hotels worldwide. I have met and worked with many front desk managers in any given year and I can say that Mel is absolutely one of the best I have ever met. As a frequent traveler, it is always a great sign when you walk into your hotel and there is a welcoming smile and warm recognition. It makes a statement about who she is as a person, her attitude toward her job and the exceptional service that your hotel provides its guests.

Mel is a superb representative of your great company.

I would ask that you share this message with Mel, your staff and place a copy of it in her personnel folder for consideration in her next performance review or for a promotion opportunity. Mel's example helps everyone understand why you have so many "Excellence" Awards in your display case!!!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful testimony! We will do all the things you ask regarding acknowledging Mel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Near everything in Boardman. Nice clean facility that is updated and pleasant. Staff is very helpful and courteous. Food is very good and restaurant is open for all meals. Would be nice if breakfast were included in rate as the breakfast for two added twenty dollars to our bill.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank MaryandBobontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thank you very much for the kind words & for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Was here for a weekend quilt retreat, approx 100 of us. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. The infrastructure was able to handle all of our sewing machines, irons, lamps, electronics, etc. without blowing up (which has been a problem at other hotels)food was excellent, which is almost impossible in a banquet, buffet setting. Rooms and public areas seem to have been recently renovated. Very attractive and modern. Rooms have refrig and microwave. Nice pool area with hot tub and glass ceiling. Very nice bartender. Generous drinks for the price. Lots of shopping nearby, movie theater next door. Will definitely come back with hubby. Pillows were thick and firm, all 4 of them. Would have preferred 2 of them to be thinner or softer, like at Hamptons. Probably an option if I called housekeeping, but it was late. Overall, surprisingly great.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank auntiehoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you for the kind words & for sharing. We loved having your group! We were concerned about the electrical needs but thank to a great deal of pre-planning, everything went as well as we could have hoped. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boardman
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Boardman Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Youngstown Boardman
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Youngstown Boardman/Poland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Youngstown - Canfield
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Youngstown Boardman/Poland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South

Address: 7410 South Ave at McKay Dr, Boardman, Youngstown, OH 44512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Youngstown > Boardman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Price Range: €96 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Youngstown South (Boardman) is an award winning hotel, and people notice our pride! Guests enjoy full-service features and amenities such as high-speed internet access; an indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool spa; onsite fitness center, as well as complimentary access to a nearby full-featured fitness center; and the locally renowned T.J.'s Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the area's shopping and entertainment district and is surrounded with literally millions of square feet of retail shopping stores and dozens of locally owned and chain affiliated restaurants. A 10 screen Regal Cinemas movie theater is directly adjacent to the hotel. Many company offices with local, regional, and national bases are located nearby the hotel. Guests to the Holiday Inn Boardman enjoy ease of access from three international and regional airports including Cleveland (CLE), Pittsburgh (PIT), and Akron/Canton (CAK). Driving? The hotel sits minutes from I-76, I-80, and I-680. 'The Holiday Inn story is larger than buildings and happy vacations. It is the story of people - people who had faith in an idea, and who were willing to work together for its development.' - Kemmons Wilson, 'The Holiday Inn Story', July 1971. We have the Right People to make your visit special, and we look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Boardman Youngstown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boardman Hotel Boardman
Boardman Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing