We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Wallhouse Hotel(Walnut Creek)
US$140
US$119
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Inn(Walnut Creek)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zinck's Inn(Berlin)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$157
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$116
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Dover(Dover)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$118
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
7
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

I went here for one night with a group of girlfriends. We rented Warbler and Hummingbird cottages. Both were very clean and well stocked for whatever we needed. The views were amazing and the horses and cows behind the cottages were very friendly. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Me and my family usually travel here for evey spring vacation. This year my grandmother Hilda did not book the hotel quick enough and we had to go elsewhere. The house is very quiet and clean. Tango and Cleo are so cute! Lean is very friendly tword my grandmother! The paddel boats are one of my favorite things there.
The dock was lovely. The only thing is that I got a splinter from the wood and almost had to go to the emergency room! Luckily my uncle got it out.
We usually have easter dinner here, and sometimes vist hershburgers farm. The rooms are plentyful. The nice thing about their large outdoors areas is that we can have eater egg hunts.
We love to travel the the Bluebird house, and are hoping to return next year or for thanksgiving this year.

Room Tip: The bluebird house is lovely for large familys
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

This is my second time in one of the cottage's. I love it here! The cottage was very clean, w/ delicious smelling sheets & towels & a cozy fireplace. I took a walk through the woods & enjoyed the sound of the wind in the dry corn fields. Sweet Tango, the three legged dog, slept near my van the whole time I was there. If you don't mind not having phone service or wifi, then you just might love these cottages as much as I did. A great place to relax and be still.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank gracetroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

If you are staying planning on staying at Mel and Mary's think again. The setting is nice but the lodging has not been kept up. Things are run down especially in the suites. During a rain storm the ceiling was leaking in 10 different spots, bedrooms and living room area. The ceiling also had serious water damage. One of the skylights was boarded up. Paint was peeling off of the entry doors. No one should have been staying in this unit. It should have been closed till it was fixed. It is a safety hazard. We were staying here with 3 small children.
The price was outrageous for these conditions.
We have stayed here before but will not be back after this Experience. Highly disappointed! This is so sad because this use to be a very nice place..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cincimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmcottages, Owner at Mel & Mary's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Hi and thank you for your comments. We are sorry about the issues you encountered while staying with us in June. We are happy to let you know we've replaced all the roofs this Summer and are in the process of doing/updating the units. Again, we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and would love another chance to show you our hospitality.

Warm regards,
Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

this was our 3rd stay at Mel and Mary's Cottages but the first time in the Warbler cottage. We did love how close we were to the pond and could even fish from the porch as it rained. However, we didn't care too much for the driveway as once you get to the cottage you have to either back out or back in depending on if you are coming and going...no place to turn around unless it's the neighbors driveway. Also the ceiling in our living room was a mess on the wall where the window is. Layers of paint have bubbled and come off hanging there with huge brown wet stains which is about 3 feet in length and when looking closer we noticed the seam of the wall there also had quite a bit of obvious black mold. That was quite unsettling to us for the price you pay. It has a kitchenette which is nice with large fridge and comfortable beds. Tango hung with us on our porch the entire time we were there. He's getting old and it's sad to see him moving slow and you can tell he's in pain now but certainly is a lovable, dear boy. Everyone staying in the cottages and houses were all very nice and friendly. I'd have to think hard about coming back though due to that horrible ceiling above the window. That really needs fixed soon. Nice to have an extra boat with so many kids there.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank christianmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmcottages, Owner at Mel & Mary's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Good evening and thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We are pleased to say we have taken care of the paint/wall issue and hope you will give us another try.

Warm regards,
Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews