We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Witbank(Emalahleni)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Highveld(Emalahleni)(Great Value!)
US$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ledumo Lodge(Emalahleni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
54
33
21
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
33
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom serviceexcellent staypleasant staygreat hotelwould recommend this hotel to anyoneshopping mallon arrivalthe hotel staffrooms are spaciousfood was amazingstaff was friendlyproteareceptionlifesecuritybusinessvenue
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is excellent, from food to rooms to staff......everything! The rooms are modernised snd the food is up to standard. Free 500MB WiFi each day and free gym access. The hotel is phenomenal,if you want a peaceful night sleep,comfortable and clean rooms........Protea hotel is the best.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Penuel_NBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingManager2, Maketing Assistant at Fortis Hotel Witbank, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Penuel

Thank you for taking the time to complete the GUEST Satisfaction Survey after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Witbank.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF was so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of the STAFF member’s in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Witbank again soon.

Kind Regards
Alexis Roestoff
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Hotel was clean and quiet. There is no lift so had to drag luggage up to secnd floor and back down again. Luckily a porter was available to carry them up, but not for all guests. No mini fridge in the room, only one towel and decaf coffee available in the room. Shopping mall nearby with food restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask fr help with luggage up the stairs
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingManager2, Marketing Assistant at Fortis Hotel Witbank, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Kara

Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST survey during your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank. Is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Kind Regards
Alexis Roestoff
Marketing Assistant


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Is a very good place to be with family and also when on business.

Their room are very spacious and beautiful

theit restaurant serve delicious food.
They don't charge WiFi
security around the place with guArds patrolling the premises to deter criminals

Room Tip: TowNo view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 165sammym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingManager2, Marketing Assistant at Fortis Hotel Witbank, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear 165sammym

Thank you for taking the time to complete the GUEST Satisfaction Survey after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Witbank again soon.

Kind regards
Alexis Roestoff
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This is place was okay for short term stay. Not so the best place for long term. Parking doesn't feel safe as it's shared with other businesses and therefore minimal. No lifts or escalators should you have a lot of luggage but the staff is friendly, prompt and efficient to assist in this regard.

Food was nice, room small just the dark walls and cold even when opening the windows there wasn't a view from outside as it was another building with small windows. So had to keep curtains closed and lights on in the room.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Thandeka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingManager2, Marketing Assistant at Fortis Hotel Witbank, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Thandeka

Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST survey during your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay,Certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank, is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Kind Regards
Alexis Roestoff
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Located in witbank opposite game Centre behind several vehicle sales shops is this Protea Hotel. The reception had stringent reception rules you must present your ID before being registered. It has two story's but no lifts for those who may need them. The restaurant had one GREAT chef waitress- exceptional service that makes you feel home about service. The food is normal nothing to write home about. Protea hotels must revisit their business acumen and improve services.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jabu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingManager2, Marketing Assistant at Fortis Hotel Witbank, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Mr, Jabu M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST comment card during your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about the Location of the hotel and receptionist Attitude towards you certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Kind Regards
Alexis Roestoff
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews