We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Haus”
Review of The Haus Hahndorf

The Haus Hahndorf
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$44
Cuisines: German, Pizza, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Haus Hahndorf is a dining and social experience like no other. Located in the heart of the stunning Adelaide Hills, The Haus Restaurant showcases an amazing selection of dishes created from the best in local produce which changes with the seasons. Open 7 days a week serving food ALL DAY for, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, it is no surprise that The Haus Restaurant is one of the most popular restaurants in Hahndorf. Come and enjoy our professional friendly service and if you're not after a meal just sit down and enjoy one of our tempting pastries, artisan coffees & FREE Wi-Fi. We also offer a large range of Healthy & Gluten Free options, as well as Vegetarian & Vegan-friendly dishes.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

The food coming off the pass at the Haus is more than worthy of your hard earned and they have a daily happy hour (1630-1830) and specials which only adds to the attraction, but...I’ve never been a fan of a restaurant that doesn’t offer table service, this really detracts from the experience which is a pity, and the 10% surcharge on Sundays & Public Holidays might be a deal breaker for some.

Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi Groeneveld,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent dining experience. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your meals and took advantage of our happy hour drink specials!

We do offer full table service when dining indoors at our restaurant, but in a similar fashion to a number of our competitors on the main street of Hahndorf - we currently do not offer table service out on our street café, mainly due to the size of our premises and the amount of staff needed to cover this area. We are looking at changing this set up in the near future with the extension of our restaurant and street café.

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Came in for a post wedding breakfast and enjoyed the outdoor courtyard. Had the breakfast pizza which was tasty and was a massive serving (same size as a large pizza). Coffee was a little slow to come out but was good.

Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi R G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry to see that our service was a little slow on this occasion - but we are glad to see that you enjoyed your breakfast pizza!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We had a family gathering to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with 8 other family members. Fantastic evening, fantastic food, and the service was great and friendly. the meals were all cooked perfectly. The staff welcoming and friendly. The chefs certainly didn't scimp on the food. everyone left full and happy. Well done management and staff

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pnfergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi pnfergy,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and we are delighted to see that your night was so fantastic!

We hope to see you and your family again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Ate here during our time in Hahndorf as we felt it looked quality. It is not. The greasy, overcooked pork knuckles made us ill and the service was basically none existant (order at the counter, get your own cutlery, water) which is all fine, but not when you charge the price they do. Avoid

1  Thank Nicc_o314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Nicc_o314,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to the Haus. We value our guests and their feedback matters a lot to us.

We understand the seriousness of your complaint and we are investigating the issue straight away. We want to assure you that our food is maintained at the right temperature and is being rotated regularly. We maintain temperature logs of all of our fridges and the stock deliveries at all times. We are investigating this issue further and contacting our suppliers.

We understand that it has caused a great deal of inconvenience to you and your guests. Could you please send us your details via email (jay.jassar@haushahndorf.com.au) so we can gather more information regarding your visit, to assist us in investigating the issue further.


Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We visited on the recommendation of our tour guide. I am typically wary of tour guide recommendations but after looking at some other options in the area, we decided to try it.

The food was fabulous. The sausages are large and come with two types of mustard. Pizzas are interesting with good flavour.

Order one of the signature dishes if you’re in a group. If nothing else, you’ll amuse your friends and be able to take some great foodie photos.

Thank GlobeTrottingMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi GlobeTrottingMommy,

We are delighted to see that your took the advice of your tour guide to visit us! We appreciate your kind words and we are glad to see that you found our signature Wagyu Brisket to be impressive!

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haus Hahndorf also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Haus Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing