We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Wurst I have eaten!”
Review of The Haus Hahndorf

The Haus Hahndorf
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$43
Cuisines: German, Pizza, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Haus Hahndorf is a dining and social experience like no other. Located in the heart of the stunning Adelaide Hills, The Haus Restaurant showcases an amazing selection of dishes created from the best in local produce which changes with the seasons. Open 7 days a week serving food ALL DAY for, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, it is no surprise that The Haus Restaurant is one of the most popular restaurants in Hahndorf. Come and enjoy our professional friendly service and if you're not after a meal just sit down and enjoy one of our tempting pastries, artisan coffees & FREE Wi-Fi. We also offer a large range of Healthy & Gluten Free options, as well as Vegetarian & Vegan-friendly dishes.
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Haus is a great place to eat, even with the queues of people waiting for a seat, the friendly staff were able to cope with getting the meals to us efficiently and the crowds just seemed to disappear into the building! Great atmosphere whether you were sitting inside or outside.
Three of us had the Wurst plate and one had hamburger. Beautifully presented, and omg the flavours ... heaven! Good size servings ... two varieties of kransky sausages sauerkraut and a delightful potato bake with a sauce over the top and two varieties of mustard to top it off! The flavours were out of this world!!! Don't forget to have a pretzel to top it off! We shared!
The Hamburger was also delicious and filling and came with a generous serving of crispy chips with a delicious flavoursome sprinkle over them
Great choice of drinks available nd their coffee is delicious! No way could we fit in sweets, but if you were going for coffee and cake there was a great selection.
Prices were very good!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi Katwynn,

We're delighted to see that your experience with us was extremely favourable!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your dishes!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 326 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

We hadn't made a booking but were greeted at the door and taken to our seats. A lovely Eli attended our table and introduced himself. we ordered fish/chips and heritage carotts/zucchini fritters. My husband reports the fish was average but the chips really nice - crispy and tasty. I loved my two starters combined for a main meal. The carrot dish was heavenly, the fritters the best I've tasted. This dish was large (with 4 fritters) and easily enough for a main course.

The atmosphere was really buzzing as it was busy. There was a singer with a guitar in the corner (and not too loud as to spoil the chit chat). Eli was great - our dishes cleared timely and drinks topped up as necessary.

It's not a cheap night out but we will happily pay a bit extra for the great service - other eateries should take note of that. Quite often the service is atrocious in the Hills, especially in pubs.

Thank Devaney2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi Devaney2015,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your dishes!

We're also glad to see that you enjoyed the vibe of our restaurant. I have passed on your comments about Eli to our Restaurant Manager as he seems to have impeccably held up our values and standards during your visit, which is extremely important to us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I chose this place because of its rating on TripAdvisor. I was expecting it to be charming since the main street of Hahndorf is tree lined and was very pretty with autumn leaves. The restaurant is large and commercial. The food was fine but with slow service. I personally would have preferred a smaller quainter restaurant or cafe.

Thank MAISON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thankyou for your feedback on your recent dining experience. We apologize if service wasn’t up to the high level of service we pride ourselves on and appreciate both positive and constructive feedback.

If you can kindly email our Restaurant Manager elle.mcalister@haushahndorf.com.au to enable us to find out further information about your recent experience.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Haus.

Kind Regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

This is a great place for a feed be it traditional German or contemporary at a reasonable price. Service was a little slow but they didn't hurry you up if you wanted to savor the moment. Overall a very nice place to eat.

Thank ian6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi ian6633,

We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to enhance the experience in the future.

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

My husband and I recently went for a drive to Hahndorf, it was lunch time, very busy as it was school holidays, lovely weather and a long weekend. So, to find a spot for lunch where we could sit at a table, was starting to get a bit challenging. We kept walking away from the madding crowd, until we came across "Haus". It too was busy, but, we were greeted at the entrance and taken to a table outside. We would have to say, we were very impressed with the service, food was delicious (best pizza we have had for a long time) and just sitting in the warmth over a lovely glass of red wine.
We will be back.

Thank Jobandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi Jobandben!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're delighted to see that you enjoyed the Haus Restaurant experience!

We make sure that all of our customers seated outside remain cosy with our café blinds, gas heaters, blankets & closed roof!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haus Hahndorf also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Haus Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing