We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of German Spoon

German Spoon
Ranked #12 of 59 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Description: GERMAN SPOON Hahndorf's local restaurant proudly service dine in & take away facility. We offer locally sourced food produce, authentic German pork sausages, kids menu, and variety of pasta,chargrill meat, schnitzels, seafood and fresh salad.We acknowledge all the dietaries and showcase gluten free desserts as well. Our beverage menu accommodates Adelaide Hills wines,crafts beers & spirits.
Restaurant details
Description: GERMAN SPOON Hahndorf's local restaurant proudly service dine in & take away facility. We offer locally sourced food produce, authentic German pork sausages, kids menu, and variety of pasta,chargrill meat, schnitzels, seafood and fresh salad.We acknowledge all the dietaries and showcase gluten free desserts as well. Our beverage menu accommodates Adelaide Hills wines,crafts beers & spirits.
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch here today with a very varied menu friendly attentive staff. Pork neck was amazing also the curry Wurst wonderful flavours. Thanks German spoon will be back

Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShailS55, Owner at German Spoon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Kathy

Delighted to have your positive feedback especially about our signature dish" Pork Neck" and flavoured Currywurst.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Regards
German Spoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We had a voucher from “The Entertainment Book” so we just popped in for lunch. We were met by a warm friendly member of staff and then made our way to a table. The venue is clean, contemporary and well laid out.
We were given menus and chose from a great variety of dishes - German, European, and Asian. It’s all reasonably priced with a good selection of local wines.
My wife has the char grilled chicken dish with a beautiful and slightly spicy sauce (spicing was perfectly done). I had the lamb vindaloo and I asked for it to be hot - it was delicious... well balanced, fresh & vibrant flavours.
Our experience of the German Spoon was really good. We'll be back again for sure

Thank gmleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShailS55, Owner at German Spoon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear GMleech

Thank you very much for your positive and well described feedback.I am glad to read that you truly enjoyed your dining experience from greeting till end.

We aim high towards food quality and provide attentive cum focused experience to our patrons.Our around the globe menu caters to different taste buds as it is very versatile and extensive looked by many.

It'll be our pleasure to have you again in near future.

Regards
German Spoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Had a Groupon deal for The Feast and 2 German beers.
Beers are Ottingers - take them or leave them.
The Feast is fabulous. 4 fat sausages, big schnitzel, pickled pork, pickles, red cabbage and creamy mash.
Everything delightful and a dream in the mouth.

Thank Maggie_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShailS55, Owner at German Spoon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Maggie

Thank you very much for this amazing and well decorated feedback.Feast for 2 is our signature platter and over the period we might have sole more then 500+ with Groupon.

Glad to read and best way to describe "Dream in mouth"

Looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Regards
German Spoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

the steak was a bit tough. Kids chips were greasy but staff very polite. the sausages are fairly average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShailS55, Owner at German Spoon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear John

It is bit disappointing to hear about your steak though we would have loved to replace/alter other main had this been share with us during your dining experience as guest satisfaction is our paramount priority.

Hope you will consider this as a forgettable dining experience and will provide us another opportunity to serve you in near future.

Thank you again for mentioning about attentive service .

Looking forward to re - welcoming you.

Warm reagrtds
German Spoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Meal: Spoony Wurst Lover Platter and Spoony German Schnitzel

Food was tasty and filling. But appeared to be an issue to accommodate for vegetarian options. Had the condiments on the side which was fine but this was "something they do not offer" because of a voucher.
We were also informed we could not use our Dimmi booking (which is literally an app just to book a table) because they lose commission. If this is an issue, remove your restaurant from the Dimmi app.

My partner enjoyed his Wurst platter with the chicken schnitzel. The chicken wurst was apparently the tastiest.
The condiments of sauerkraut & mashed potatoes were very yummy and tasted like homemade dishes. Would recommend this platter for two who have larger appetites.

When discussed, our questions were met with very rude & abrupt answers by the owner.
The young blonde lady who was our waitress had fantastic manners & she was very helpful. So thank you to the young lady for your good customer service!
Contrast from the owner who was simply set on reiterating the voucher T&Cs.

We understand we used a voucher, which was a way we decided to try this place for the first time. However, nowhere have we had issues at any other cafes or restaurants to accommodate for vegetarian options - with or without a voucher.

Thank roamingwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shail S, Owner at German Spoon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing German Spoon and having your promotional CUDO voucher with us and providing your personal dining experience though a constructive feedback. We welcome every feedback as this gives the opportunity to improve, further training and learn more about the guests requirements.

It is our paramount endeavour to accommodate every possible guest request which is in our capacity though at times we find it challenging to accommodate few unwarranted guest request. I wish to clarify few of the aforementioned from our end though this is not to demean or disrespect any of the above comments.
“Had the condiments on the side which was fine but this was "something they do not offer" because of a voucher”.
Every CUDO voucher naturally comes with accompaniments or simply sides which are – honey mustard blaukraut, carrot and potato mash and grain mustard jus and same had been served in past to odd 200+ CUDO vouchers and will be served in future as well till the promotion is ON. So “Something they don’t offer” because of a voucher” is a very misleading statement. Same accompaniment has been shown in the promo picture as well for your reference.
Cudo voucher is a predominantly a German sausage based wurst lover and homemade schnitzels platter which is 52% discounted from normal menu and designed to cater the non-vegetarian lovers., Same has been duly advised and mentioned in TC’s -

Offer includes (per couple): One serve herb bread or plain garlic bread; One Spoony Wurst Lover Platter, One Spoony German Schnitzel (choice of beef, chicken or pork);
Set menu applies - no alterations permitted. Menu subject to seasonal change

I very well recollect when I received a call during peak afternoon lunch service from lady mentioning the above and she has made a booking though Dimmi Might have sounded abrupt but never be rude to anyone. I clearly suggested making phone booking which is the standard booking procedure applied to any CUDO voucher and this is duly mentioned on the printed voucher.

To make booking through different portal such as DIMMI we pay from our pocket $3.30 per person per booking that’s why I urged you to book through the phone. We don’t get any commission as mentioned by you though we pay to DIMMI for every single booking. Considering CUDO is 51% discounted from regular menu pricing and ongoing promotional German sausage & schnitzel based platter we intend to offer it in same manner as described and shown in promotional picture without any substitute or replacement. Unfortunately its cost structured and well balanced pricing which does not allow us to substitute or offer alternatives.

In Addition to this our newest team member who served you came back to double check with me as she was unsure about the separate veg. Condiments which I duly asked her to do so and then spoke to chef and served you accordingly. If there is any room or possibility to accommodate any guest request we definitely have culinary willingness to do so. I would have happier if you would have opted to choose available vegetarian option such as Bruschetta, vegan beans, verdure pasta or haloumi salad.

We accommodated every single possible request from our end and do it gladly all the time.

However I am glad you liked our schnitzels, German pork sausages, homemade leek carrot kartoffelpuree and blaukraut.

Warm Culinary Regards
German Spoon Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed German Spoon also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to German Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing