We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Maroochydore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves Maroochy River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Waves Maroochydore is a little piece of Paradise that I should really keep to myself. My husband, daughter and I now stay here every January. It is in a prime location, overlooking the beautiful Maroochy River, ocean and Cotton Tree. Every room has a stunning view. We eat our breakfast on the huge balcony every morning. The 2 bedroom unit we stay in is HUGE and fully self contained with laundry facilities. There is a lovely pool with plenty of sun lounges around it for the adults to relax on. There is a private jetty so you can fish off the jetty or paddle out on a surf ski or jet ski. The Big Top shopping centre is straight across the road with Woolworths and many other lovely cafes and restaurants. We never use our car when staying at Waves. The view is so stunning that you just want to live our on the balcony the whole time you stay here. The staff are always so welcoming and friendly. There is even a dvd library and book library in reception for you to borrow for free. Waves is a beautiful place to stay on the Sunshine Coast.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views of the Maroochy River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellShell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hi ShellShell72

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. As you suggest, we are very spoilt with what we have here and look forward to welcoming you back in January!

Kind regards
Lyndon and Sara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

What a picturesque place to stay! the views were amazing! The rooms were clean and great, the location perfect..we never used the car once! Walking distance to everything. We had the Penthouse and our own private roof top terrace and spa..incredible.
The staff were sooo helpful I even left my book there and they posted it back! Thanks to Sara who was happy and helpful at the desk just what you want from staff at a hotel on a holiday. Thanks Waves!! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VDin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi VDin88

Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review and it was great to see you girls enjoy your time here with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the Sunny Coast!

Kind regards
Lyndon and Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We found Waves a very good place to stay for a week. The apartment was clean, spacious, well appointed and with a great view of the Maroochy River. The only complaint would be the whistling wind which suggested some design or finish issues.
Nice pool area, albeit a tad cool for a May dip. Jetty proved a fun addition (tenants only) as a fishing base, but if you had a small craft I guess it would be great for that too.
Very easy to stay in Waves, with secure car park, efficient lift series, etc.
Just remember this is building managed for owners of individual apartments and presumably group owners. It's 100% self catering, but close walking distance to many of the areas better restaurants, cafes and the RSL Club. I guess that's obvious from the website, etc, so no complaints.
While reception were helpful when we had a request (one only), I suspect the place is summed up by "no worries at all" being the only words offered on checking out. No "did you enjoy your stay", etc. That's what Waves is, a great venue in which to look after yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KiwiKev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi KiwiKev2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

As advertised, we are self catering apartment accommodation and are the preferred destination by many due to the size of our apartments along with our idyllic location.

We hope to see you again when you are next on the Sunshine Coast.

Kind regards
Lyndon and Sara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We booked one of the ground floor units at Waves for a recent family holiday.

The units are located close to literally everything we needed (shops, cafes, bars & restaurants in Ocean St, beach and the river). Whilst we didn't have the views our friends on the 9th floor had (stunning) we loved the lower levels with kids.

The unit was immaculate! Heaps of room for the 6 of us (3 bedrooms - 2 adults & 4 kids) and the kitchen, 2 x bathrooms and ammenities were all fantastic.

The kids loved the outdoor area, especially the spa after a dip in the river. The ease of access to the pontoon for kayaking, SUP and swimming over to what the kids coined Crab Island, was a great way to keep them entertained. The pool & spa were also a huge hit with the whole family.

Waves was super clean and the on-site Mgt, cleaners etc were friendly & ensured we will be back.

Can't recommend highly enough for a family weekend away, or a sneaky weekend without the kids :)

Room Tip: Lower level, room 103 for families. 9th floor for couples with/out older kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBarney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Manager at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi DBarney78

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review and it's great to hear you all enjoyed your time here with us.

As you suggest our location is second to none with so many options right on our door step.

As managers, we do take pride in the level of cleanliness that we deliver to our guests both in our rooms and the complex in general and from the constant feedback we receive, it doesn't go unnoticed!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Lyndon and Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The facilities are just one needs to have a simple, relaxing break, no noise, watching the sea roll in and out, with dine in, take away, and self cater all at hand, in the such a peaceful most enjoyable view.

Room Tip: Amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hi Marina

Thank you for a lovely review, it's nice to see we are also a preferred destination for locals as well!

Kind regards
Lyndon & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
1.5 km away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 12 in Maroochydore
394 reviews
3.8 km away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
3.4 km away
Alexandra on the Pacific
Alexandra on the Pacific
#6 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
645 reviews
0.9 km away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Maroochydore
117 reviews
0.2 km away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 12 in Maroochydore
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Maroochy River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Maroochy River

Address: Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland 36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range: €184 - €579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waves Maroochy River 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Maroochy River is located right on the river mouth opposite the Ocean Street dining precinct. As Waves Maroochy River is one of the closest resorts to Sunshine Plaza and with the Big Top Market Fresh directly across the road, you really will be spoilt for options when it comes to shopping or dining out. Access to the river is via our own private jetty or if the beach is more your thing, a short stroll along the river through Cotton Tree Park will find you at our very own Maroochydore Beach. Our complex of 1,2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained self-catered apartments is complete with a resort style heated pool, spa and separate kids wading pool. Selected ground floor and penthouse apartments also offer their own private Jacuzzi and outdoor kitchen complete with gas bbq. An onsite gymnasium is also available to all our guests. Parking is provided in our secure underground basement with security controlled lift access to each level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Waves Maroochy River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing