We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
132
31
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
31
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre maroochy river across the road sunshine plaza the kitchen already planning our next nice big fridge open sea watching the wildlife secure underground parking apartments face cotton tree check in was a breeze lovely pool area pool spa bedroom apartment within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

What a picturesque place to stay! the views were amazing! The rooms were clean and great, the location perfect..we never used the car once! Walking distance to everything. We had the Penthouse and our own private roof top terrace and spa..incredible.
The staff were sooo helpful I even left my book there and they posted it back! Thanks to Sara who was happy and helpful at the desk just what you want from staff at a hotel on a holiday. Thanks Waves!! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VDin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi VDin88

Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review and it was great to see you girls enjoy your time here with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the Sunny Coast!

Kind regards
Lyndon and Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We found Waves a very good place to stay for a week. The apartment was clean, spacious, well appointed and with a great view of the Maroochy River. The only complaint would be the whistling wind which suggested some design or finish issues.
Nice pool area, albeit a tad cool for a May dip. Jetty proved a fun addition (tenants only) as a fishing base, but if you had a small craft I guess it would be great for that too.
Very easy to stay in Waves, with secure car park, efficient lift series, etc.
Just remember this is building managed for owners of individual apartments and presumably group owners. It's 100% self catering, but close walking distance to many of the areas better restaurants, cafes and the RSL Club. I guess that's obvious from the website, etc, so no complaints.
While reception were helpful when we had a request (one only), I suspect the place is summed up by "no worries at all" being the only words offered on checking out. No "did you enjoy your stay", etc. That's what Waves is, a great venue in which to look after yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi KiwiKev2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

As advertised, we are self catering apartment accommodation and are the preferred destination by many due to the size of our apartments along with our idyllic location.

We hope to see you again when you are next on the Sunshine Coast.

Kind regards
Lyndon and Sara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We booked one of the ground floor units at Waves for a recent family holiday.

The units are located close to literally everything we needed (shops, cafes, bars & restaurants in Ocean St, beach and the river). Whilst we didn't have the views our friends on the 9th floor had (stunning) we loved the lower levels with kids.

The unit was immaculate! Heaps of room for the 6 of us (3 bedrooms - 2 adults & 4 kids) and the kitchen, 2 x bathrooms and ammenities were all fantastic.

The kids loved the outdoor area, especially the spa after a dip in the river. The ease of access to the pontoon for kayaking, SUP and swimming over to what the kids coined Crab Island, was a great way to keep them entertained. The pool & spa were also a huge hit with the whole family.

Waves was super clean and the on-site Mgt, cleaners etc were friendly & ensured we will be back.

Can't recommend highly enough for a family weekend away, or a sneaky weekend without the kids :)

Room Tip: Lower level, room 103 for families. 9th floor for couples with/out older kids.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBarney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Manager at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi DBarney78

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review and it's great to hear you all enjoyed your time here with us.

As you suggest our location is second to none with so many options right on our door step.

As managers, we do take pride in the level of cleanliness that we deliver to our guests both in our rooms and the complex in general and from the constant feedback we receive, it doesn't go unnoticed!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Lyndon and Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The facilities are just one needs to have a simple, relaxing break, no noise, watching the sea roll in and out, with dine in, take away, and self cater all at hand, in the such a peaceful most enjoyable view.

Room Tip: Amazing views
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hi Marina

Thank you for a lovely review, it's nice to see we are also a preferred destination for locals as well!

Kind regards
Lyndon & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

I visited my son and his wife today who booked a two bedroom apartment in the Waves complex for the Easter long weekend. What an ideal place. All apartments face the water, looking up the estuary to the open sea at Cotton Tree and Maroochydore - a view that I have always thought hard to beat. Lovely big balcony and all rooms and kitchen very well appointed with nice quality furniture and appliances. Secure underground parking and a nice swimming pool at the front and its own jetty for hopping onto your sail board or whatever. What makes this place an ideal pick is the location. It's virtually across the road from the Big Top shopping centre so food and drink shopping is a breeze. Apart from that you have all the nightlife of Ocean Street meters from your door so no driving. There are some really good restaurants and night spots there - you won't be stuck for meals and night life. A ten minute walk will take you to The Sunshine Plaza, so in my opinion this place has it all.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesResort, Owner at Waves Maroochy River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Eve

Wow! We must of really impressed you for you to take the time to leave a lovely review as an "unofficial" guest!

As you suggest, we are very spoilt with our location here and we hope your family also enjoyed their stay with us.

Kind regards
Lyndon and Sara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews