We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, beer and hospitality”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Please note: King Ludwigs Restaurant is closed for renovations and annual holidays until 31.3.17. We will reopen on Saturday 1.4.17 and look forward to serving you again. King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and is run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help or their 3 children and professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by owner/chef Klaus and his sous chefs. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian beer bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwigs a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, Barbara & Klaus and Team
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for an unplanned late lunch. We ordered German sausages with sauerkraut, pretzel, some cake and a smoked beer. The food was excellent , as was the beer. The woman who I assume was the owner arranged games for the kids. The atmosphere was nice on a cold day with a warm fire. I’d recommend this place to anyone passing through Maleny. I just wish there was a place like this in Brisbane.

2  Thank LmM215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped here today to have a German beer looking over the glass mountains... no different to what our friends who took us there have done before!!!

When we ordered drinks and some bread and pretzels.. we were literally told off... and told that the table was set for lunch and made no attempts to hide her rudeness... she then made the table feel uncomfortable and then the icing on the cake was the fact that she removed the plates and menus from the table and then in German spoke to her waitress ....

Our friends that are Sunshine Coast will no longer bring any friends there again... we will never go back there and hopefully no one else will need to feel as uncomfortable as us...

But here if the kicker... we paid for bread that was at least 2 days old... it was stale !! So food crap too...

7  Thank davide160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

So sorry you felt that way. Maybe you should let us know if you walk in with 7 guests at 12:45pm on a busy Friday during the school holidays that you are after a drink only. We love to serve people but refuse to be servants. You requested a table outside which was fully set for lunch guests. You have decided to share one small soup of the day and 2 Pretzel and 2 rye bread plus a drink. We did not take the plates away, since you were sharing the bread and needed a plate and knife, we took away the cloth serviettes, the main course cutlery the dessert cutlery. We also left water glasses for your convenience and supplied two bottles.
We take offence to you saying our food is crap if you haven't even eaten here. German bread is not like white Australian bread, it is a lot denser and heavier, that is not called stale. We don't need to serve stale bread, we bake every day!
May we suggest to prevent you from feeling unwelcome in any other place again maybe you discuss with the wait staff that you are on a bit of a progressive food & drink trail and want to have a look at the menu and a discussion with your friends as to what to order.
We would have had a perfect table for all of you in the garden to enjoy uninterrupted views & a drink and a pretzel if we were mad aware on arrival and before sit down and service of drinks & water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We had the best night last Saturday - enjoying Christmas in July. Wow, what a fun filled night. My husband was pulled up for audience participation fun a few times and we were laughing the whole night. From the moment you walk in, you feel at home. Barbara is so welcoming - like a long lost friend. We took advise from the wonderful (and very informative) barmen who gave us the perfect beer! The food was amazing - I couldn't eat all of it - so much food. Throughout the evening our drinks were attended too by the fantastic service of the team. Thank you to Barbara, Klaus and the wonderful team. You truly have a terrific restaurant with an outstanding service. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rrontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Had a memorable lunch here with friends last week.
The food was glorious and the selection of beers, was exciting.
Make sure your hungry, as their serves are plentiful.
Staff were efficient and friendly.........have the strudel best I've ever had.

2  Thank _klaassoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Danke Schoen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I had one of the best nights here and very memorable one. Amazing entertainment, food & drink. They had a Christmas in July event on and I celebrated my 21st there, I couldn’t recommend it anymore.

2  Thank kieranberrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018
Google Translation

Danke Schoen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing