We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location and board”
other travellers have booked this property
Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
Beautiful sunrises from Compass Corner Shepherds Hut The beginning of Spring 2014
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
Beautiful sunrises from Compass Corner Shepherds Hut
The beginning of Spring 2014
Inside - your comfy double bed with a view straight out into the field.
Inside - the breakfast/dining area next to the stove
The Kitchen area with HOT and COLD fresh running water
The doors flung open to let in the glorious sunshine
The doors flung open to let in the glorious sunshine
Fresh baked bread, Jams, Marmalades and Preserves provided at request & as much tea as you can d
Fresh baked bread, Jams, Marmalades and Preserves provided at request & as much tea as you can d
Your host Sue is on hand to prepare a variety of cakes and tray bakes to order
Purpose built shower room in the granary, a steady constant stream of cleansing hot water
Purpose built shower room in the granary, an integrated hair dryer mounted on the wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
East Grinstead, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laura_E85
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and board”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed over for one night following on from a wedding and could not have been more impressed. The owners clearly have put a huge amount of effort and time into making the hut both luxurious and have an authentic feel. Really welcoming and breakfast was amazing!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnie521
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We wanted to get away to celebrate our wedding anniversary . We couldn't have asked for anything more . The shepherds hut was so cozy and the surroundings idyllic . It was so lovely we didn't bother to go out just stayed in and had a bbq on the two nights we stayed . There was no aeroplane noise despite being close to Gatwick and the deer made an appearance on our first evening . Breakfast being delivered in the morning was a real treat and the lemon drizzle cake on arrival was to die for . Sue and Mark were exceptional hosts . We would recommend this to anyone .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surroundings and quality of fittings
Liked least: Having to leave
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, tranquil and utterly charming.”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I recently stayed at this charming, idyllic Shepherds Hut. Our hosts - Mark and Sue - were wonderful and made us feel very welcome. If an escape from the busy lives we lead is what you're looking for then this is the place to go. Life feels so simple, quiet and laid back here - so much so that while we were sat outside the hut, enjoying watching the sun setting, 6 deer wandered in to the field that surrounded us. In the morning Sue brought us a delicious breakfast basket and we then had a walk through the Bluebells in the wood that back on to the hut. Truly a wonderful stay and we can't wait to go back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenTrib...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Words simply cannot do this shepherd's hut justice! It's so good that even though airbnb closed their reviews before we were back from honeymoon so we couldn't review it there, we've searched it out on here because we want to let people know how amazing it is! We stayed here before flying out to bali from Gatwick. From the moment we arrived it took our breath away. Beautiful surroundings and the most gorgeous shepherd's hut. They built it from scratch and have not forgotten anything, all the little details from a charming welcome book to a tv and DVD player, with dvds, to deckchairs outside to enjoy the tranquility with a glass of wine on a lovely summer's evening. It's cosy, comfortable, brilliantly designed. It's a short walk to a private toilet and shower which was more luxurious than most hotel bathrooms we've seen! Sue and Mark were lovely, the lemon drizzle was to die for. It made the absolute perfect start to our honeymoon and we will definitely be returning for wedding anniversaries in the future. Thank you both so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! it was so beautiful and peaceful.
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300Jojo
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sweet , warm and cosy shepherds hut !”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This sweet little shepherds hut is so warm, cosy and romantic . A beautiful and peaceful setting - a perfect place to celebrate our first wedding anniversary . The shepherds hut is beautifully furnished and has everything you need . The breakfast hamper delivered to your door each morning is delicious with lovely homemade jams and marmalades ! Sue and Mark were very warm ,friendly and helpful hosts. They kindly gave us an anniversary card and left us some homemade cake on arrival. We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to go back ourselves one day .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$127
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing