We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$131
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Findon Manor Hotel(Worthing)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel(Worthing)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel(Worthing)(Great Value!)
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
329
241
66
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
241
66
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain coursemini barlovely hotelself servicespa bathcold meatsevening mealmain buildingbuffet breakfastgood sizepretty villagecarvery restaurantbeefplenty of parkingwaiting staffsuperior roombramber castle
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

A good place to stay for a couple of night within easy drive to Goodwood Revival. The room was large and in good order, with complimentary bottled water and tea/coffee and biscuits available. Room was over the main road but it wasn't too busy or noisy. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cooked and cold food. Would stay again. Staff very good in hotel and restaurant.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Moosie57 thank you for posting your review - we really appreciate your comments.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Lovely Hotel, Clean and very comfortable. Great choice of food. Easy access to the seafront approx. 6 miles away and great for a stay near but not in Brighton. Very courteous staff. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank louisehZ5957ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you louisehZ5957ZJ for choosing The Old Tollgate - we hope you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Situated opposite the castle ruins at the entrance to a delightful Sussex village the hotel proved to be superb from the start to the end of our stay. The whole staff from reception to housekeeping were open, friendly and welcoming. Our elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean room had a four poster bed and spa bath together with an en suite and mini bar with an honesty account sheet.
The evening meal was a carvery and we were glad that we booked on arrival as the restaurant was packed, such is its popularity. The carvery had a variety of cold starters; the usual cuts of meat, well cooked and served with a smile, and also specials such as confit duck legs, braised beef and curries; the desserts were largely cream based gateaux. The buffet breakfast had a wide choice of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses plus an array of ingredients to make up your own 'Full English'.
The ease of site parking, access to a small secluded garden and the private residents' lounge made our stay truly stress free and relaxing. I have no hesitation in recommending the Old Tollgate to anyone wanting to explore West Sussex yet keep away from the bustle of the coastal towns.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scousetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Scousetripper
I'm delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Have just spent a night at this excellent hotel as part of a group of eight golfers.
We were greeted by a friendly member of staff at reception who checked us in quickly and gave us the usual information about dining etc. We had a three course carvery evening meal, which was excellent, and a substantial buffet style breakfast.
The bedroom was spacious, clean and not too hot! There was tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bottles of water. The en suite bathroom was again quite large and appeared to have been refurbished recently.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for accommodation fairly close to the Dyke and Pyecombe golf courses.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you David H for taking the time to post your 5* review. I shall pass your comments onto my staff.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We needed a quiet break for a few days and we were so glad that we chose The Old Tollgate Hotel. We booked a twin room, half board, for three nights and although the weather was not that good the warm welcome at The Old Tollgate made up for the lack of sunshine! Located in a very old village, complete with a castle, a river and various old buildings it is well worth a stroll to explore. Not far from Shoreham-by-sea with its harbour and shops and only a short drive to Brighton or if you like you can use the bus. The restaurant was amazingly good; plenty of variety, plentiful portions and plenty of help. The Hotel and Restaurant staffing levels were such that one never felt neglected or abandoned and we felt that nothing was too much bother when we asked. Housekeeping was also very good; I carried out my usual cleanliness test on the staircase hand-rail and it got full marks as it was NOT sticky (I have lost count of the number of times that I have touched a hand-rail and then wished I hadn't!). The room etc. were clean and well maintained. We are recommending "The Old Tollgate" to all our friends!!

Room Tip: South faces by-pass but with windows open traffic noise only very low drone. Rooms in West Gate are away from Restaurant and Bar.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you Raymond B for choosing to stay with us - I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews