We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful location with stunning views!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Overdale Cottage

Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Original gritstone fireplace with wood burning stove and exposed stone wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Original gritstone fireplace with wood burning stove and exposed stone wall
Bathroom with shower over bath
The roof terrace - sit and relax and take in the fantastic views of Bradford Dale and beyond
Overdale Cottage showing the roof terrace
Looking towards Bankside and Overdale Cottage
The old clapper bridge at the bottom of the footpath, looking towards Middleton Dale
Bradford Dale - at the bottom of the footpath
The swimming area in Bradford Dale
Clapper bridge at the bottom of Bradford Road
The packhorse bridge, Bradford Dale
The Fountain, erected after a campaign by local women who had to haul water up from the river
Lathkill Dale, just a short walk from the cottage
There are numerous walks in and around Lathkill Dale
Lathkill Dale - spectacular scenery
Looking down on Lathkill Dale
Alport - another short walk from the cottage
Alport - vagabonds be warned!
Try a Bakewell Pudding from the original shop
Bridge over the River Wye, Bakewell
Peak Rail - take the steam train from Rowsley to Matlock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa1961N...
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful location with stunning views!”
Reviewed 29 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

This beautiful little cottage on the edge of the village of Youlgreave is the perfect retreat for a relaxing and stress free break away from the daily grind The property is well equipt, very clean and extremely comfortable! The scenery around the village is breathtaking with a multitude of walks on the doorstep.

The Farmyard Inn serves fantastic food at very reasonable prices and the staff are friendly and helpful. The village shop sells array of local produce and lovely homemade cakes, a perfect treat after a long walk!

We both enjoyed our few days at Bankside, our only complaint would be it wasn't long enough so we will definitely be back and next time it will be for longer!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2018
Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Overdale ,look forward to see you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 16 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved this cottage and the perfect surroundings. Straight from your front doorstep you are immerged into the beautiful countryside to take in so many amazing walks. The cottage is beautifully decorated and is just perfect for couples A visit to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall is a must. We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked for two weeks next year. One week is not enough as there is so much to do. Thanks again Sue & Phil. See you next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2018
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay,it was nice to meet you both and looking forward to accommodating you again in June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanep...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage for a long week-end in a nice picturesque village in the heart of the Peak District.”
Reviewed 19 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This Cottage is located in a very peaceful place with a unforgettable view down below with easy access to footpath for walkers.

It has a wood stove and everything else you need to relax and enjoy your stay. The kitchen and the bathroom are both clean, modern with again all the facilities. The place is warm and cosy on sunny day as well as on the rainy day with on top an open terrace where you can put your feet, enjoy your cup of tea, listen and watch all kind of wonderful birds.

We had a wonderful few Days and I would really recommend the Overdale Cottage to anybody and not to mention warm neighbours who helped us out to make us feel at home.

Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Stephane and Atsuko

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2018
Thank you for your nice comments regarding our cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angcot103
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excelent, Cottage lovley, village beutiful, highly reccomend”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Location of the cottage was perfect, we have two dogs and the local walks were on your doorstep ideal, The cottage was comfortable and well equipped, The owners were friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The views were outstanding We would defiantly recommend and will be retuning next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
Really pleased to hear you say enjoyed your stay at Overdale, hope to accomodate you in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
We were very, very disappointed with this review because your complaints simply are not true and we hope that future guests will take the time to read previous reviews which praise the cottage for its cleanliness. We do not understand why you would say that the cottage was unclean, full of cobwebs and flies and smelt musty because it was clean when we left, and the curtains are certainly not dirty. No one else has complained about the bed and we stay there ourselves regularly to make sure that everything is in good order.

I sent you a lot of information regarding the cottage and surrounding area including directions to the cottage but you phoned and said you couldn't find the cottage so my husband talked you to it, you told him you hadn't read the directions. You lit a fire even though we were in the middle of a heatwave and for some reason switched the boiler off although there is a sign on it asking guests to please not adjust any of the settings. We both really regret accepting your booking, we know that people have the right to put their reviews on here but you have been very unfair and untruthful with your comments and we hope that future guests will take the time to read previous reviews and rely on those and not this one bad one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing