We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
42
45
18
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
45
18
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as we were breaking up a journey from Cornwall to Liverpool and decided to visit Matlock Bath as we hadn't been there for years. The prices in Matlock itself are quite high, as is normal for that type of place, however, this is 10 minutes away and served by an excellent bus service, right outside the door.
The young lady who checked us in was very polite and friendly, she also gave us good advice as to how to get to the places we wanted to visit, infact, her boyfriend actually gave us a lift into Matlock as he was going that way.
Room was very spacious and clean, with plenty of tea and coffee. Nice quiet location with plenty of varieties of real ales on tap.
Breakfast the next day was superb, served by an equally friendly and helpful member of staff.
Would I stay again ? Definitely it's a much cheaper alternative to staying in Matlock itself.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

We booked for 2 nights initially, but called up 5 days in advance to say we couldn't make one of the nights. The manager cleared it and said it would be fine. When we arrived at the hotel for our one and only nights stay, we had been charged for both nights with some of it taken out of our deposit. We were informed that an employee had a phone call to say that we were actually coming for both nights, when we had clearly not made another phone call. There was no communication of who made this call. We definitely didn't.

Deeply disappointed in service and will be trying to gain our money back through our bank now that the management are unwilling to do anything about this.

A real shame as the room wasn't bad, although very noisy from bar guests.

Avoid this hotel.

Room tip: avoid like the plague
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JM8888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2019

A friend and I were booked into this hotel for 3 nights however after the first night we decided to check out and find somewhere else.
On arrival only 1 room was ready for occupation and Anna, who checked us in at the bar, checked 4 more rooms before she found one that was ready for use. This meant that instead of being in adjoining rooms we were on different floors. The rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable however there was a problem with the electrics in my bathroom which caused the ceiling light to keep going out which was a bit unnerving when it happened while I was having a shower! After the bar closed and the staff left we realised that we were the only people in the building and there no instructions in the rooms about who to contact if there was a problem during the night. The whole place seemed tired and unloved and poorly managed. There were 2 mattresses and a number of tablecloths blocking the corridor on the floor where my room was. We decided not to eat there for dinner and went to a pub nearby however breakfast the following morning was excellent. The 3 members of staff that we met were friendly and helpful but the manager was nowhere to be seen. When we left we were checked out by the cleaner!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2019

This was a great place.
It is convenient and central, the rooms are good, the proprietor and staff helpful and friendly.
Car parking was convenient
Good beer and wine at the bar
Good breakfast service
Interesting history

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Stayed one night in late February. My Husband and I were attending a Friend's "milestone" Birthday Party in the hotel and we had a room in the corridor off the main building and stairwell. It was a room with two double beds in - one of them on the floor, which was quirky yet fine. Our room was quiet, yet another room, possibly nearby, was apparently affected by the noise of the extractor fan, so that's possibly one to avoid. The function room was nicely decorated, retaining its Georgian and historic character, yet modernised well. Staff were all friendly and efficient and I'd particularly single out "A" for praise. She was on both for the function and breakfast the following morning. Her colleague who assisted at the function was also friendly and efficient. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and taken in "The Snug" (?) on the other side of the Hotel from the main entrance. It's an historic room and there was a fire laid for guests. It's nicely decorated and retains its character. Also, the pm we arrived (Saturday), the Manager showed us a spot to park in the car park at the back through the old carriage arch. He had said on the phone that the car park would be busy Saturday pm with post-match sports people coming for refreshments in the main bar. This was indeed the case. Yet he made the effort to come out to us and make sure we had a spot - that was appreciated. All in all a good stay in a very characterful, welcoming Hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews