We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Trying to find anything wrong would be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StueygHar...
Harpenden
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Trying to find anything wrong would be "nit-picking"!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just coming to the end of our week at Ivy Cottage and I can honestly say it is one of (if not THE) best appointed accommodations we have stayed in. Whilst there is not much "going on" in Winster (especially with young-ish children) we were never far from anything to make this an issue (Poole Caverns / Chatsworth / Heights of Abraham / Eyam / Matlock...).
The rooms are beautifully decorated and with plenty of lovely 'little touches' such as the guest reports book and small notices to help you on your way it's impossible not to feel relaxed from the start.
The recommendation would be to have a few first outings planned before arrival so you are not wasting time and take some time top do some of the Winster Walks...we only did one but wished we'd done a couplke more.
Being a road cyclist I took on many of the hills around here (and didn't lose...although I'm not sure that means I won...) and that was a great experience too..
Would not hesiyaye to recommend to friends and family alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall size / quirkiness of the cottage layout
Liked least: Not much going on in Winster (but we knew that....)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnettlesh...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL RELAXING BREAK IN SPRING SUNSHINE”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Cottage was very easy to find with excellent parking. Arrived to a very warm welcome by Becky the owner accompanied by her delightful 3 year old daughter who showed us around the property. Lovely welcome pack which was much appreciated. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very warm with everything you could possibly need. The sun was shining every day of our stay and we visited many lovely areas in the surrounding district. Have been visiting the peak district for many years and will certainly return to Ivy Cottage. Thanks Becky and Matt for the high standard of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and cleanliness
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Good sized accommodation, but nice and cosy as well after days out walking. A well set out kitchen that has far more utensils than most other holiday cottages for those who like to cook for themselves. Ideal base for touring or walking in the peak district. Also good local walks. Welcome pack was much appreciated and a well thought out touch by the owners. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandmley
Old Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have stayed in several cottages over the years ,but Ivy Cottage was definitely the best. Matt and Becky have thought of everything, with quality furnishings and fittings, and thoughtful extra touches everywhere.The cottage was spotlessly clean ,warm and cosy,and in the fascinating old lead-mining village of Winster, which was a delight to explore, with a village stores and two pubs.
Also we had the convenience of buses to Matlock and Bakewell.
Booking was simple and directions and emails helpful and friendly.
We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ivy cottage was lovely to return with wrap-around warmth after day walking.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serena j
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Utter Perfection”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly thank you for creating such and wonderful piece of heaven. The cottage is outstanding in it's beauty! We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend in Ivy Cottage and we will certainly be recommending it our friends and family.

We have had many cottage holidays over the past 10 years and we can honestly say that Ivy cottage has become our new favourite! We hope to return again in Jan 2015 to celebrate my birthday in Ivy cottage once more.

Utter perfection!!

Well done!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing