We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful & Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
149 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 149 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mjelbould
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful & Comfortable”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Excellent Hosts, excellent attention to Detail, rooms very comfy, Not far from Chatsworth, Matlock, Bakewell. Shop & Post Office in the Village

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour80294...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed in Ivy cottage with my partner for a short break and would highly recommend.
The owners Matt and Becky were very welcoming, friendly and informative.
The cottage itself was very clean and is beautifully and tastefully decorated.
The owners have though of everything and caters for all ages/members of a family staying there (games, toys for the kids)
All amenities very easy to use, the owners have developed a user guide for the cottage which is very useful. They also provide a wide range of information on the surrounding area ie places to visit, walks, maps etc.
Winster is only a small village with a local shop and two pubs, but places to eat and visit within a short drive.

Would recommend this cottage highly to all, we had a very pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A
Ipswich
1 review
“Excellent cottage that exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely week. The location was ideal for accessing the south Peak District.
The cottage was cosy, beautifully furnished and very well equipped with plenty of room for the five of us to spread out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy w
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Peaks”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Starting with a very warm & friendly welcome from Becky, Ivy Cottage certainly lived up to our expectations, we were not disappointed. Situated in a lovely village central to where we wanted to go & see. It's a large cottage with plenty of space yet still feels cosy & homely, it was spotless, warm with everything we needed & more. The gardens were still very pretty & well kept. A welcome pack was lovely Thank You Matt & Becky especially the wine & choccies. Ivy cottage has to be the best holiday home we've chosen & we've stayed in lots over the years. An absolute Gem of holiday home. The glorious weather was a bonus !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveB56
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class holiday accommodation and destination”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Matt & Becky are friendly and efficient hosts making our booking, arrival and departure so easy and pleasurable.
Ivy Cottage is like no other self catering holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. The cottage is a huge space divided into beautifully appointed rooms each with their own cosy relaxing character. The beautiful solid wooden furniture throughout the cottage is of the highest quality and all the sofa's were so comfortable, it was difficult to know where to relax the most!
The kitchen had wow factor and provided us with every conceivable piece of equipment required. There was massive amounts of crockery, glasses and mugs etc all of the quality that made each meal we cooked feel special.

There is a huge full bookcase of books to chose from. Becky and Matt facilitate a brilliant book swap. They also provide an extensive amount of local information, walking books, maps and eating out recommendations. A good quality CD player/radio is available, Becky assures us that the music choice is all down to Matt! We would say good on ya Matt we loved it!! Well done on having a TV in almost every room as well!

Following our long walks, we really appreciated a soak in a bath big enough for two! The shower is huge with lashings of hot water, a truly relaxing experience.

Surrounding the property is the prettiest and fantastically maintained cottage garden. It was such a joy to look out onto, sadly due to our inclement weather, we didn't get to make use of the gas BBQ and beautiful terrace.

The cottage is located in a very special Peak village where the first ever National Trust property is located. We so enjoyed being able to complete long circular walks from the village. Although we didn't use the bus service it would appear that you could leave the car parked all week.
The two local pubs are warm and friendly, serving good local beers and great tasting decent pub food. They are not open all day and it is advisable to book for a meal at the Bowling Green.
Having a well stocked welcoming and friendly village shop and post office was a bonus too and a pleasure to use.
We would recommend this fantastic cottage for what ever size party, Becky and Matt have really thought of everything to make your stay feel special.
We really didn't want to leave this gorgeous 'home' and fantastic village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing