We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing and Friendly”
Review of H&D Exotic Teas

H&D Exotic Teas
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Tideswell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Description: We offer a wide variety of breakfast, lunch and delicious meals and become a Bistro on Friday and Saturday nights with succulent dishes from all over the world
Restaurant details
Description: We offer a wide variety of breakfast, lunch and delicious meals and become a Bistro on Friday and Saturday nights with succulent dishes from all over the world
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Been a few times, I'm working my way though their exotic tea's and lovely home made cakes. The staff and lovely and it's fantastic for meeting the friendly locals, for a chin wag and to find out local history

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denise2436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D, Owner at H&D Exotic Teas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Thank you very much or your lovely review. Pleased you are sampling our teas and enjoying our cakes

Warm regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2019

I found H and D years ago when they were at the old wool shop after following the aroma of exotic cooking from there whilst walking in Tideswell and always returned.
Back again and tried the takeaway curry. Had the Lamb jalfrezi and was not disappointed. Just the right amount of spice and tender lamb. Some takeaways can be oily but this was fresh and good sauce with peppers and tomato. Nice punchy onion pickle with the poppadoms. Having worked in many independent kitchens back home its always good to find gems like this this. Lucky people of Tideswell !

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank norfolkcoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D, Owner at H&D Exotic Teas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Thank you for your lovely review and really pleased you enjoyed our curry and aromas

Warm regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

On today's experience (August Bank Holiday Monday) I think H & D must stand for Hopeless and Disorganised. Front of house was staffed by two fairly clueless youths who had little idea of who had ordered what or where they were sitting. The table behind us were asked at least three times what they had ordered. We saw people being brought food they hadn't ordered. We were brought food we hadn't ordered. We saw people having to ask what had happened to their order. The table in front of us still hadn't been served when we left having had our order (good bacon sandwich, average jacket potatoes) and eaten it. Our jug of tap water never materialised at all. Our glasses of water only appeared after a reminder. For goodness sake, use table numbers and write the table number on the order. It isn't rocket science. And the place was, at most, only two-thirds full. Heaven knows what it would be like if it were full. I've rarely seen a more disorganised cafe. Come on, get a grip.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D, Owner at H&D Exotic Teas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thank you for your review. I apologise for your experience. We do use table numbers however we were short staffed and had fairly new staff on. Normally there is more organisation with meals going to the correct tables


Regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019

The daytime meals are very good however having the Thai/ Chinese menu at the evening was poor. The Thai green curry was very watery and prawns over cooked(jar curry is certainly better!) The noodles were so densely packed that they stuck together and came out as a block...very stodgy.The lemon chicken was watery and the chicken cubed and processed it was inedible and as we ordered for 5 and in advance to have everyone leave the majority of each meal says it all. Overall disappointing especially as this wasn't cheap! I am sure this is not reflective however we can only comment on our experience and this one range of food.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Kmtraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019

Called in after a long walk with our two dogs...lovely warm welcome from the two young lads...nice varied menu...the H & D full English breakfast was delicious as was my other halves bacon,Brie & cranberry panini...tea in a big pot as it should be was also very very nice...great prices also....would recommend.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gmoklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D, Owner at H&D Exotic Teas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Pleased you enjoyed your meal and thanks for your review

Warm regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed H&D Exotic Teas also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to H&D Exotic Teas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.