We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$127
Agoda.comUS$127
TripadvisorUS$127
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
105
71
28
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
105
71
28
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub old building function room hot water electric shower wooden floors evening meal sunday roast tasty food booked a table salmon apple pie full english breakfast room was clean and comfortable one night stay lovely village short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed here with friends in rooms 2 & 3 for a couple of nights. One night we ate in the pub and had breakfast both days, all were great, with quality ingredients. Rooms are in keeping with an old building, so the odd creaky floor but all adding to the character.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Hi Mike,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on the creaky floor boards and hope to have new carpet down soon. Glad to see it didn't disrupt your stay. Hope you return if you are ever in the area again.

Kind Regards, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020 via mobile

Great few days spent staying at The George Inn. Lovely hosts in Rebecca and Rory and fantastic food cooked by James. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Whitbread61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Afternoon,

Firstly thank you for leaving us a review we really appreciate the feedback. We have been working really hard to improve the guest rooms, we are so glad you enjoyed your room and your overall visit with us. We have plenty of projects we are wanting to make a start on so make sure to return and let us know what you think.

Kind regards, Rebecca, Rory and James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

Excellent country pub with lovely rooms. Amazing food and good breakfast. Friendly staff. Spotlessly clean, good beds, fluffy big towels and great tea and coffee making facilities. Outside seating to watch the world go by with a good choice of beer

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Afternoon Dawn,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, So glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. Having not been here very long we are still making improvements as we go so it is brilliant to see those we have made have been noticed.
We have just put new beds into all the rooms as well as linens and towels etc, glad you liked them !
We have plans to renovate more of our outside seating ready for next summer so you will have to return and let us know what you think.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards, James, Rory and Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

Enjoyed an excellent pub lunch here. Good menu reasonably priced with a good selection of beers. Pleasant staff. Service a little slow however not a problem when you can sit outside in the sun. Plenty of free parking.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Afternoon,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your food with us as well as the beers! At busy times it can take us a little longer especially when the sun is out as it doubles our capacity, But glad to see you made the most of it !

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch,best we have had in a pub. everything was homemade the Yorkshire puddings were really good, followed by a tidza pud and custard. Service was very good will definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 711lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Afternoon,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate all the feedback we receive.

So happy to see you not only enjoyed our Sunday roast but have given it the title of 'Best' Sunday lunch, that's brilliant !

We all work really hard to make your experience an enjoyable one and its great to see it pays off.

Thanks again. Kind Regards,
Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews