We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$127
Agoda.comUS$127
TripadvisorUS$127
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
105
71
28
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
105
71
28
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub old building function room hot water electric shower wooden floors evening meal sunday roast tasty food booked a table salmon apple pie full english breakfast room was clean and comfortable one night stay lovely village short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

Excellent country pub with lovely rooms. Amazing food and good breakfast. Friendly staff. Spotlessly clean, good beds, fluffy big towels and great tea and coffee making facilities. Outside seating to watch the world go by with a good choice of beer

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Afternoon Dawn,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, So glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. Having not been here very long we are still making improvements as we go so it is brilliant to see those we have made have been noticed.
We have just put new beds into all the rooms as well as linens and towels etc, glad you liked them !
We have plans to renovate more of our outside seating ready for next summer so you will have to return and let us know what you think.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards, James, Rory and Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

Enjoyed an excellent pub lunch here. Good menu reasonably priced with a good selection of beers. Pleasant staff. Service a little slow however not a problem when you can sit outside in the sun. Plenty of free parking.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Afternoon,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your food with us as well as the beers! At busy times it can take us a little longer especially when the sun is out as it doubles our capacity, But glad to see you made the most of it !

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch,best we have had in a pub. everything was homemade the Yorkshire puddings were really good, followed by a tidza pud and custard. Service was very good will definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 711lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Afternoon,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate all the feedback we receive.

So happy to see you not only enjoyed our Sunday roast but have given it the title of 'Best' Sunday lunch, that's brilliant !

We all work really hard to make your experience an enjoyable one and its great to see it pays off.

Thanks again. Kind Regards,
Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

Came across this pub driving into Tideswell, not familiar with the area but thought we would give it a try.

Initially on walking in with face masks on waiting to see if we could get a table (wasn’t really clear if we were meant to wait to be seated or just sit down) the locals looked at us like we had two heads. One made a comment that we wouldn’t be catching anything from them as they are all locals... not sure that’s how covid works mate but moving on... normally face masks are kept on in restaurants in the bar area etc unless seated but we soon realised that no one was wearing masks not even the staff so be prepared to be gawped at if you put one on.

Initially I had reservations that it would not be a friendly pub, especially when I went to look at the specials board which was next to the bar and again the locals stared like I had two heads. However actually the staff were very friendly and once seated things quickly improved.

We all had chicken burgers with chips which were nice. We had a variety of desserts I had sticky toffee pudding which was absolutely lush! Staff were super friendly and the other patrons eating seemed nice. Just a couple by the bar that seemed to have an issue. Price was reasonable - cheaper than pubs in bakewell and food possibly better.

Food was great and reasonably priced. I would recommend this place just be prepared to ditch the face masks or be gawped at by a couple of grumpy locals!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank laurai1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Afternoon,

Many thanks for your review we do appreciate all the feedback we receive in the hope we can keep on improving.

I am sorry to see you didn't feel welcome when first entering our pub. I hope you do understand that the actions and opinions of others don't reflect ourselves or how we run our business and that this was an isolated incident and not something that happens on a regular basis.

Had we been aware of the comments from others we would of course tried are best to correct this.

The guidance from the government doesn't state the mandatory use of face masks in pubs/ bars or restaurants. We do treat all our customers the same whether wearing a face mask or not. We are also following all the necessary guidance in order to keep our customers and staff safe, we have sanitiser station's throughout the pub, all furniture is thoroughly cleaned as well as touch points throughout. social distancing practised and so on.

I am glad to see you at least found our staff to be welcoming and helpful. Lovely to see you enjoyed our food. The sticky toffee pudding is homemade by the Chef James and it is one of the favourites !

We hope you will return again and give us the opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience from start to finish.


Many Thanks,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

Arrived on the off chance and found the George to be welcoming and friendly. All four of us had lovely meals. The salmon was beautifully cooked soft inside and with crispy skin. It came with olives, sautéed potatoes, kale, beans and a balsamic sauce. A great combination. Others had Homity pie and steak pie. All delicious and would recommend them. Prices reasonable and in keeping with other pubs in the area. Thank you.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trip621468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Goodwin, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are so glad to see you enjoyed your visit with us!
James will be pleased to see you enjoyed his food, he makes everything on the menu from scratch.

We hope to see you again soon to sample something else on the menu.

Kind Regards, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews