We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Feast!”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Tideswell
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Anchor Inn is a beautiful vintage coaching inn licenced in 1699 and purchased by Robinson's brewery in 1964. Nestled on the outskirts of the beautiful Peak District village of Tideswell nr Buxton. We offer traditional English home made food 7 days a week from 12 until 9pm. ] Our well stocked bar boasts 4 real ales, 3 draught beers including Birra moretti & Veltins Pilsner, and a fine range of wines and spirits.
Reviewed 12 August 2020

I needed a picnic lunch for 2 for a special day out and Richard at The Anchor produced an amazing hamper of mouth watering loveliness Fresh beef rolls, selection of cheeses and pickles, pork pies, scotch eggs, onion ring crisps, apples, individual summer cheesecakes and low alcohol lager. Perfect for the occasion and absolutely delicious.

Thank you so much Serena and Richard.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank 347nickyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScreamerC, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Hi Nicky and thank you again for your wonderful review on here and Facebook. It was our absolute pleasure to make up the picnic basket... it’s nice to be able to do something a little bit different! Richard and I were delighted you were so happy with it. Hope you’re both keeping safe and well . Kind Regards Serena Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2020 via mobile

This is a really friendly place with lively banter, great food and my husband tells me the beer is good too (I'm a wine drinker myself!). Covid compliance is fantastic and they are doing everything possible to keep their customers and staff safe. Have already booked to go again.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank bev-la73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScreamerC, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We were absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much that you booked again ! Apologies for my late response.. I’ve just had the Tripadvisor admin passed over to me . It was particularly great to hear that you felt so safe in our little pub as we consistently keep to the government guidelines at the Anchor. It would be lovely if you could visit again in the future and in the meantime stay safe and well. Kind Regards.. Serena Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2020

Visited fir evening meal 11 August and despite being very busy nothing was too much trouble for the staff . We received excellent service throughout and the food was really outstanding . Thank you very much for your hospitality

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScreamerC, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Hi David, thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to look after you all and we would love to see you again sometime. Stay safe and well. Kind Regards Serena Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

Very friendly service and tasty, well cooked food. Quick and efficient service. Covid rules were well respected.
Generous portions for mains and desserts. For those of us who were veggies, an extra veg choice e.g. on the specials board, would've been good, but we appreciate it was a Sunday night

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank KejeFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScreamerC, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our special little pub. We are constantly considering new additions to our menus especially for vegan, vegetarian and gluten free so take on board your suggestion for the specials board. We have recently added a delicious mushroom and spinach wellington as a regular dish .. my only problem is trying to stop the staff eating it ! We would love to see you again in the future, in the meantime stay safe and well . Kind Regards.. Serena Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020 via mobile

We visited the anchor twice during our stay in Tideswell and both times we had a wonderful time. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, especially the manager. Social distancing was adhered to, without ruining a friendly, communal atmosphere. Thank you for making us so welcome! 10/10!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank jessheats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScreamerC, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Hi Jess and thank you for your wonderful review. I remember you very well as we had quite a few lovely chats. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our special little pub and very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future when normality returns ! Until then stay safe and well .. Kind Regards Serena Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Litton, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.