We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Choose Ivy Cottage for peace and quiet and lovely...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maggie G
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Choose Ivy Cottage for peace and quiet and lovely views”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ivy Cottage is perfect for three people- comfortable, cosy and clean with a beautiful view from the living/dining room and a decked area with a table and chairs at the front of the property.
The cottage is situated at the top of a pretty lane in an elevated position. It is well equipped and contained all we needed for our week's stay.
The Village itself is interesting and has a good choice of pubs serving food and cafes for coffee and cake in addition to a grocery store, butcher, baker and post office. The little craft shop has a wide range of beautifully made items and you are free to browse.
There are many places to visit in the area without driving great distances eg. Buxton, the village of Eyam (rhymes with 'team') which has a fascinating history and a museum (Very reasonable entrance fee) telling it's story , Chatsworth House and Ilam Park.
The countryside is beautiful with it's rolling hills dotted with sheep and cows and the abundance of pretty cottages with their colourful gardens a delight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The comfort, peace and quiet and beauty of the location.
Liked least: We didn't dislike a thing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annecroxf...
winchmore hill
1 review
“Lovely cottage, ideal location.”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very nice cottage, walking distance to local shops, cafes and pubs.
Very comfortable and warm with good facilities. Lovely outside decking space in good weather. Loads to do in the area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui D
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable and cosy cottage on the edge of a lovely village”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014

This is a spacious, comfortable and cosy cottage. It is well equipped, the beds are comfortable and was great having 2 sofa's so we could have one each. There are a couple of good cafe's in the village serving lovely afternoon teas. I would recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and its location in the village
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cybermous...
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot. I would buy if it was up for sale.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I spent two nights of the full week in this wonderful little place. My partner spent seven nights there working hard to get a writing project completed. The place is absolutely ideal for this. The cottage is really quiet with views over the fields opposite and the sunset. There is even a large decked area for breakfasting outside in summer. It was really warm inside while both of us were there (the heating never entirely went off, but regulated itself automatically over the whole day!) There was everything we could have wished for in February, log fire, fully fitted kitchen so we didn't have to venture out into the worst winter in a long time, warm and comfortable beds and a nicely appointed bathroom. The furniture downstairs was not new but fitted the ambience of the cottage perfectly and was in good condition. The house is carpeted everywhere except the kitchen and this made for a comfortable, draught-free stay. While there I met the owner of the cottage twice, and Ken seemed to be a very practical and affable person with a full working knowledge of the property. During our stay everything supplied worked perfectly, even the radio piped into the bathroom!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the quiet, the care and attention to detail inside
Liked least: It was ten minutes from the pub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJHughes2...
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage with open fire and home from home touches.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I stayed in Ivy Cottage over Christmas and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to have a rest from work and relax. It's ideally situated for lovely walks in the Peak District and the village shops kept me well stocked with fresh local produce. The cottage is well proportioned and has the added bonus of an open fire in the sitting room, although I never used it because I was very cosy with the central heating which was easy to adjust as necessary. I chose to use the smaller bedroom which had a very comfy bed that meant I had my best nights of sleep in ages. Ken, the owner, was very nice and couldn't have been more helpful. Thanks x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, lovely area, cosy cottage.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$59
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing