We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Foid”

Horse and Jockey Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Tideswell
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Had a Sunday roast with the family - great value and home cooked food. Marie and her team were excellent hosts. Would definitely visit again,

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank MarkW7909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2019

We arrived at 7.10pm and ordered food immediately. Unfortunately our order of four meals arrived in two parts; three meals at 8.10pm and the fourth at 8.30pm. Although we hadn’t finished our meal, unlike the couple next to us, who had their meals served an hour apart. We ordered gammon, beef burger, vegetable lasagne and lamb shank. All meals were poor, with salad and vegetables being minimal. The lamb shank special was tough and actually inedible. The manager cleared our table and asked if everything was ok, which did surprise us, as she was aware of our wait.
We complained about the waiting times, as well as, the lamb shank. The manager declared she was sorry to hear that we were unhappy with our wait and the food and deducted the cost of the lamb from the total bill.
We will not return to this pub. Especially when there are others nearby, with delicious food and pleasant staff.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank 250maxinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

Called today (Wednesday) says its open all day everyday , but it was closed. Went to other pub and had meal there instead.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Very friendly local pub with excellent food and beer. Very helpful staff. Made to feel like one of the locals

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Foxy801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Great pub under new management, very friendly, good local atmosphere and really nice pints. Definitely worth a visit during your stay in the lovely village of Tideswell.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Jockey Restaurant also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Horse and Jockey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.