We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local pub ”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Tideswell
Price range: US$8 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The George Inn Hotel is located in the centre of the Peak District National Park in the heart of the UK. Comprising a traditional locals pub with tourist accomodation and restaurant which operates all year round.The restaurant is self contained away from the bar and there is also the option, weather permitting, to sit outside in the courtyard beer garden or at the front of the property.We offer traditional pub food prepared fresh from locally sourced produce and endevour to offer a relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy your meal.
Reviewed 20 December 2018 via mobile

Staying nearby at local gust house so only a 5 minutes walk away was this welcoming hostelry. It was Friday early evening, we sat down and was looked after by our young friendly waitress. We ordered drinks, then food my wife had chickpea curry at £7.99, I had the beef and ale pie with chips and vegetables at £8.99, 2 for £15 so discounted £1.98. We had desserts, strawberry sponge pudding with custard at £3.95 and caramel apple pie and custard at £4.75. All this was delicious and plentiful washed down with drinks in this friendly village restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank leea115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

Came here for the works christmas dinner, the food and service was first class. I had the leek and potato soup for starters which was excellent. I then had the 8 ounce steak with chips and all the trimmings. Steak cooked to perfection as was the rest of the meal. For dessert i had the brandy snap basket with ice cream topped with cherries which was absolutley delicious. Can't praise the staff highly enough.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank andrewandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay in Tideswell. The menu is centred around pub favourites but it is well cooked and plentiful. I particularly enjoyed the steak and ale pie and my husband’s favourite was the Hunters Chicken.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank amymS5030KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Nothing special about the food and not a lot of choice on the menu.
However the staff was lovely.
We expected a selection of local ale and were a bit disappointed as it didn't seem to be the case.
But the place itself was clean,as we came on a week day it was really quiet so probably not representative of the place and its usual atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank chloington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

A good choice of pub-grub favourites. The management's understanding of Gluten-free foods is reflected in the menu. What a refreshing change! Top marks The George!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank reggoodman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.