We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
275
149
53
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
275
149
53
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel service charge peak district lounge area superior room a ground floor room booked this hotel car park one night stay kippers main road breakfast was excellent sandwiches black pudding chatsworth house lovely room evening meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2020

I stayed here for 2 nights In October 2020 with my wife and 2 children. The staff are friendly and very attentive. The menu is appetising and the dishes prepared by a chef that obviously loves food. Our room, 9, was very well appointed with lovely antique walnut furniture and a separate small lounge area. I went for a run in the morning straight from the hotel and within 5 minutes was in classic Peak District countryside. All in all a great stay - the highlight of which my daughter insists was the fresh, warm crispy croissants!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chrissmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea for 3 adults & 2 toddlers.

We were accommodated the same day of booking which was a huge bonus given that most places request 24 hours notice.

Brilliant service from the front of house team who really did accommodate the 2 toddlers that were with us, including bringing them fresh fruit upon arrival.

The afternoon tea was very nice and it was apparent that high quality ingredients had been used, the perfect size portions and very good value. 3 different sandwich selections, mini scones & cream and 3 different cakes & treats.

I would 100% recommend the George Hotel for an enjoyable afternoon tea treat, we will be back! Such a treat & lovely surroundings too.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank champagnetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Booked for a couple of nights due to our holiday in Madeira being cancelled. An excellent choice given that we weren't sure where to go. The hotel itself is in excellent order, looking as though it has recently been refurbed. Decoration and soft furnishings were top spec and surroundings very comfortable. We booked a standard room which was large and comfortable. Although the room was at the side of the road and on ground level, any road noise was of no bother. The room had (I think) a queen sized bed and also a sofa along with TV, coffee making facilities. The bathroom was large. Everything was clean and tidy with no frills. We booked bed, breakfast and evening meal. The food at the hotel was lovely. With having meals included, the extent of the evening menu wasnt large but to be honest it was 3 courses and the food was very good. I think the most outstanding part of our visit was the friendliness of all the staff. They put themselves out to make all aspects of our stay a good experience. I'd recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 540CathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Just enjoyed two nights at this hotel. Great location and parking. Lovely room ,tasty food and friendly staff. We had the dinner , Bed and breakfast deal and thought it was the best value hotel we’d ever stayed at.
Thanks for a great stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rix011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

We booked our 1 night stay over the phone the day before we traveled up. We were able to choose if we wanted to be at the front or back of the hotel which was a nice gesture (back is quieter -away from road). We were emailed our booking confirmation but it did not include information Re Parking or check-in time etc so i had to call the hotel whilst we were on our way to find out when Check-in was (3pm)

We arrived and were provided with the key to our room. No information given regarding breakfast times, checkout times or the barrier code to exit the car park.

That evening when we returned to the hotel after dinner we asked a member of staff what time breakfast was and were told 7.30 - 10.30am. From that we assumed checkout would be around 11 - 11.30am. We came down for breakfast at 10am to then be told that breakfast had ended and we could only be offered cereals, toast & pastries.... we asked when cooked breakfast stopped as we had paid for breakfast in hope of having something hot but it turned out we had been told the wrong times. Not only did we miss a cooked breakfast but we were going to miss checkout as that was at 10.30am.

The staff were understanding and apologetic and they did refund breakfast off our bill but it was frustrating that we were not given the information i the first place and then when we asked we were told the incorrect times. There isn't a folderor leaflet in the room to tell you any info about the hotel either... the only reason we knew the code to exit the car park was because i saw another customer enter it from our bedroom window.

That said the hotel is very nice, rooms clean and nicely decorated and we always appreciate parking and especially dog friendly accommodation. We would recommend but more organisation is needed.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nsater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews