We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
96
47
17
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
47
17
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great food the pub pie peak district four poster bed chantenay carrots new chef chips and mushy peas egyptian cotton towels side road bakewell pudding good home cooked food full english breakfast a nice place to stay bath shower spent one night here breakfasts were excellent
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We just stayed two nights at the Scotsman’s Pack. Lovely real ales and gins, cracking breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff.

Lovely old inn - would stay again and recommend. Good base to explore the area.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafBakewell, Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi John

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

I have never been in this pub before even though I used to live in the peaks. Dropped in for food after going for a walk along stanage edge. Homely and warm atmosphere, spotless and clean and the food was fantastic. The visit was made even better by the lovely young lad behind the bar , really chatty and attentive. Rounded off a fantastic much needed day off work.....thankyou

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jan1974123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi Jan,

We are very happy you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Have been before and was really looking forward to it but was a real let down. Waited a good 15 minutes for our drinks at the bar no acknowledgement whilst waiting. My meal was really dry. My partner ordered the lamb rump which must have had about 20 slices of garlic on the green beans and totally overpowered it. Dont think we would go back.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Debi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyDawes, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Sorry you were not happy with your visit, did you mention this to the manager on duty at the time?

If you please get in contact with us I'm sure we can sort this out for you.

Kind Regards
Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

staff are fantastic, a big mention to Ash ,who did everything to make our stay wonderful. Robert the amazing housekeeper is bubbly & a fantastic host . The rooms are clean,warm great facilities. Everything under one roof , makes for such a great stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank johno28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi Johno,

Thanks for your review (and the mention), we are all really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Called in with friends knowing nothing about this pub or the area, we'd simply jumped on the train for a ride out and a search for country pubs. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the food menu was varied. When the food we were astounded at how good it was. We'll definitely be back - and happy to make the hours drive to get there.

Room Tip: Book a table in advance - we visited on a Saturday and many of the tables were reserved.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank xfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank Ypu For your kind Review - we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and we look froward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews