We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$126
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plough Inn(Hathersage)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$146
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hathersage(Hathersage)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Maynard(Grindleford)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Norfolk Arms(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hathersage B & B(Hathersage)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
92
44
16
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
44
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodthe pubpielamb shankpeak districtfour poster bedcomfortable roombakewell puddingchantenay carrotssame qualitypleasant place to staypretty villagechips and mushy peasegyptian cotton towelsgood home cooked foodmelt in the mouthfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I stopped at The Scotsman's Pack during the bank holiday weekend in August. First impression was of a pleasant Pub, with accommodation. The room was acceptable, with a comfortable bed (albeit with cheap, uncomfortable pillows!) The Bathroom was rather cramped.
We decided to have our evening meal in the bar. My Wife ordered the Vegetarian Sausages and mash but asked if she could have ordinary sausages instead. When the meals came, my wife was inexplicably given a child's portion consisting of one small sausage, a tablespoon of peas and a small portion of mash! I had the Gammon and Chips. The Gammon was actually very good, but the chips looked like some ancient artifacts dredged from the bottom of an old chip pan!
After a walk around the village, we returned to the bar for a drink. I approached the bar, there being no-one else waiting to be served, and was ignored by the bar staff for several minutes! Two of them were poring over some paperwork on the other side of the bar, whilst the other was fiddling with a music player behind the bar....
In the morning, our intention to have a lie-in until 09.00 was shattered by a noisy Brewery delivery at 07.30 , a rubbish collection 15 minutes later, and finally a man with a noisy petrol leaf-blower blowing leaves around the car park! Whilst the first two disturbances were probably unavoidable, there is no excuse for the latter!
So on to breakfast.....the breakfast was truly outstanding (but not in a good way!) and marked the first time I have never been able to eat a cooked breakfast! I had asked for the fried egg to be cooked hard, but it was totally runny! The sausages were of the ultra-cheap low quality variety, were served cold, and were inedible. The meagre portion of cheap baked beans was cold, the narrow strips of streaky bacon were mostly fat and were again, cold! The only edible item was the cooked tomato which was, amazingly, hot! The toast was quite good (but cold) and the tea was astonishingly weak and contained the world's thinnest, cheapest teabag!
Overall a disappointing stay! The staff were surly and disinterested, and there were just too many things wrong for me to recommend this pub in any way! My wife and I make a point of going away for weekends several times a year, and unfortunately this was the worst experience we have had!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to reduce early morning noise!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We would like to thank yourself and your wife for both going out of the way to leave us a review. That's true dedication.

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late on Friday night. But once settled in my room I came down to a reserved table in the bar. Great beer and fantastic menu. Went for the steak and ale pie with chips and mushy peas. Very tasty. Great night's sleep in good size double bed. En suite was a bit snug but did the necessary. Courtesy proper Bakewell tart went down very well. Unfortunately had to be up and out at about 6.30 the next day so was not able to sample breakfast which did not start until much later. With a pie as good as the steak and ale I would forgive them that. Parking was limited outside which could be a problem.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank RDT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank You for your review - we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

As you have stated, sometimes parking can be difficult when we are especially busy, but we are glad it didn't affect you

Kind Reagrds
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We spent one night here having stopped at this village for the hiking. Very much the feel of rooms over the pub versus hotel or even BnB. I think they have five rooms total. Our room was a decent size with a characteristically small but perfectly adequate bathroom. All very clean. We had a front room which overlooked the street but there was no traffic noise at night or early morning. We were there midweek so the pub was not crowded and there was no noise from that either. We also ate dinner there - restaurant choices are fairly limited in this small town. Pub fare prett good. Restaurant and rooms were reasonably priced. There was a problem with fuses and we had no lights in the bathroom in the morning. Not unexpected for such an old building and it was no big deal. The general area is very picturesque; we greatly enjoyed the "Jane Eyre hike," despite quite rainy and windy conditions.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

We are glad that the blown fuse didnt spoil your visit, hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

stayed two nights and was great, food good, beer good staff excellent. Room was very clean, tidy and warm- all you need really. Breakfast was huge and set you up for the day! in all a very well run Inn, friendly staff and locals.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RustyArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to leave it. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and you view us in such high regard. I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. I'll be sure to pass your comments on.

Many thanks,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We decided to stay here for Chatsworth Country Fair which is huge. This is a handy place to be based and has easy access to many villages. The Scotsman Pack is a country pub and it is obviously an old inn. We stayed for two nights and ate there both nights. The room we stayed in was small and some of the furniture was slightly too big for the room ie the ends of the beds. The room overlooked the car park which is small and busy. There was some noise after the pub was shut but was a warm night and we left the window open. The bathroom was functional but it seemed like out of a 1970's catalogue and we heard the builders were moving in as we checked out. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the food we ate was plentiful and tasty.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 13den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very lucky to have a central location to many lovely places around the peaks. All of our rooms unfortunately do over look the car park but after we close we do ensure the noise is kept to a minimum. The builders who were moving in as you checked out were there to upgrade the bathroom in room three (we agree it was ready!). I hope this didn't cause too much of and inconvenience for you and hopefully when you next stay you will be able to make use of the lovely new facilities. I'm really pleased to read that you found the staff polite and extremely helpful, they really are a great asset and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Many thanks,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews