We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
95
46
16
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
46
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great food the pub pie peak district four poster bed comfortable room bakewell pudding chantenay carrots new chef pleasant place to stay pretty village chips and mushy peas egyptian cotton towels side road good home cooked food full english breakfast bath shower
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late on Friday night. But once settled in my room I came down to a reserved table in the bar. Great beer and fantastic menu. Went for the steak and ale pie with chips and mushy peas. Very tasty. Great night's sleep in good size double bed. En suite was a bit snug but did the necessary. Courtesy proper Bakewell tart went down very well. Unfortunately had to be up and out at about 6.30 the next day so was not able to sample breakfast which did not start until much later. With a pie as good as the steak and ale I would forgive them that. Parking was limited outside which could be a problem.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank RDT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank You for your review - we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

As you have stated, sometimes parking can be difficult when we are especially busy, but we are glad it didn't affect you

Kind Reagrds
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We spent one night here having stopped at this village for the hiking. Very much the feel of rooms over the pub versus hotel or even BnB. I think they have five rooms total. Our room was a decent size with a characteristically small but perfectly adequate bathroom. All very clean. We had a front room which overlooked the street but there was no traffic noise at night or early morning. We were there midweek so the pub was not crowded and there was no noise from that either. We also ate dinner there - restaurant choices are fairly limited in this small town. Pub fare prett good. Restaurant and rooms were reasonably priced. There was a problem with fuses and we had no lights in the bathroom in the morning. Not unexpected for such an old building and it was no big deal. The general area is very picturesque; we greatly enjoyed the "Jane Eyre hike," despite quite rainy and windy conditions.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

We are glad that the blown fuse didnt spoil your visit, hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

stayed two nights and was great, food good, beer good staff excellent. Room was very clean, tidy and warm- all you need really. Breakfast was huge and set you up for the day! in all a very well run Inn, friendly staff and locals.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RustyArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to leave it. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and you view us in such high regard. I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. I'll be sure to pass your comments on.

Many thanks,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We decided to stay here for Chatsworth Country Fair which is huge. This is a handy place to be based and has easy access to many villages. The Scotsman Pack is a country pub and it is obviously an old inn. We stayed for two nights and ate there both nights. The room we stayed in was small and some of the furniture was slightly too big for the room ie the ends of the beds. The room overlooked the car park which is small and busy. There was some noise after the pub was shut but was a warm night and we left the window open. The bathroom was functional but it seemed like out of a 1970's catalogue and we heard the builders were moving in as we checked out. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the food we ate was plentiful and tasty.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 13den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very lucky to have a central location to many lovely places around the peaks. All of our rooms unfortunately do over look the car park but after we close we do ensure the noise is kept to a minimum. The builders who were moving in as you checked out were there to upgrade the bathroom in room three (we agree it was ready!). I hope this didn't cause too much of and inconvenience for you and hopefully when you next stay you will be able to make use of the lovely new facilities. I'm really pleased to read that you found the staff polite and extremely helpful, they really are a great asset and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Many thanks,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Met a few friends in this pub last week, what a beautiful setting first of all, would love to use this as a base to do a walk from. My partner had a bottled cider and I went for a pint of wainwright which was beautifully kept. We then had dinner in the garden out front next to a little stream, just what you'd picture from a country pub. The mushroom rissotto was a triumph, massive portion mind, you might need help to tackle that bad boy. Anyway overall it was a great evening, the team there were all very friendly and I will definitely be coming back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank louis patrick s... s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Hathersage and the surrounding areas really are idyllic and we're very lucky to have a little bit of that beauty right next to our garden. I will pass your comments on about your food to the kitchen. They will be thrilled to know you enjoyed it.

Many thanks,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews