We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious chocolate cake!”

The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Glossop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: A small coffee shop situated on the edge of the Peak District with amazing views. We provide good, fresh coffee (Union hand-roasted and specialist teas (including Tea-Pigs)along with home made cakes and cookies. A selection of Panini, baguettes, sandwiches and soups are always available.
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely coffee, cosy fire and delicious cake! Owner very friendly and accommodating. Lots of parking and easy to find. Many thanks.

Thank Knitnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

Coffee and cake OK. There was a warm fire and the staff were pleasant. Not crowded very relax area. Plenty of parking adjacent to the area

Thank ChefJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The café has a bit of competition for a garden centre coffee house but the strength of this place is its small size. It's not trying to be a posh eatery or Sunday lunch emporium but is more for quick visits for coffee and a chat.
The cakes are very varied; tarts, flapjacks, sponges, biscuits and all homemade. The coffee is machine based but we thought it was creamy and hot, which was just right for our cappuccino needs!
There's a fearsome gale so sitting outside is not really an option until April and maybe more seating would be good or a sheltered - not for smoking - outside area with heating. This would put the small-appeal at risk though!

Thank RachGloss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Many thanks for your kind comments. Up here we really are exposed to whatever the great british weather throws at us and it looks like you visited us on a windy day. Try us again on a warmer day and you should see it in a totally different light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

On paper it should be excellent. When you add up all the negatives, it all adds up to a pretty bad experience. Honestly, it could be so much better.

1  Thank Chizzul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

I find it difficult to respond to this review, although I feel I should. We pride ourselves on being able to resolve the few problems that we have at the time we are made aware of a problem. However, with such a lapse of time between your visit and your review, along with an unsubstantiated statement of, "add up all the negatives," there is very little that we can say.
We believe our prices are fair and in line with other similar establishments and our cakes are made by myself and seem to extremely popular with all our regular customers. I'm sorry you feel you had to review us in such a way after such a long time. It must have been playing on your mind and I hope the experience did not upset you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

An excellant small coffee shop situated just out of town with splendid views towards the moors. Very friendly service and excellant food and beverage. A return visit. Highly recommended.

Thank 1,552,015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Coffee Shop at Wimberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing