We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Read about this pub on trip advisor and as we were staying at the pub next door my husband had set his heart on the pie.
This is a lovely pub in Old Glossop which is quite a walk from Glossop centre. It took us about 15 minutes from Glossop centre and some of it is up hill.
Old Glossop is beautiful with a lovely church and stone cottages. The welcome in the pub is warm and friendly the young lad behind the bar was smashing we had quite a chat with him. The landlord also gave us a friendly greeting.
The menu is extensive and there is also a specials board. We of course had the steak pie and it was delicious. Full of beautifully tender beef with homemade chips to die for. Just one small complaint the mushy peas were not the best but all in all it was smashing and would highly recommend. The beef we were informed was bought from the local butcher.
Well worth a visit.

1  Thank 43sherylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a few beers on bank holiday Monday 4th April. Very warm welcome by all the staff and we ordered some food from Leonard (owner and Chef). Food was amazing! Can't recommend enough!

P.S. Leonard loves making Garlic Bread with Cheese so make sure you ask for some! ;) It's a speciality.

Mark and Emma

1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanandLenFletcher, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

thanks for the fantastic review. Len will be happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Real old fashioned Inn with really friendly staff and great value for money food.
We both had steaks which were cooked just right and were tender and tasty,
All in all well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Trevo99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanandLenFletcher, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Came across this whilst on trip advisor, there’s loads of great little pubs around the back streets of glossop with good reviews but the thing that did it for me was, that it said “good for children”. Me and my partner both had lamb roast dinner and our daughter had chickem nuggets, chips and beans - all home made. The chips were huge! There were about 6 big pieces of chicken, boiled and battered, we spoke to the chef (landlords father, i think) he was really friendly, as was the young lad at the bar. There isnt a play area or anything like that, but they were just very accommodating.
We will definitely visit here again

1  Thank yllek-jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanandLenFletcher, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our pub. So glad you enjoyed your meal , see you all again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

The lady that saw to us was lovely, made us feel very welcome. Guy that chatted to us who it took us a while to figure out was also staff equally welcoming. Might be wrong but this seemed like a proper extended family run pub. The starter was great - plenty of it but lacked a slice of lemon for the salmon and prawns which would've been nice. Steak was incredible. Perfect. Huge giant home made onion rings. Home made chips, not out of a freezer; slightly greasy maybe but lovely and honest food. If it's possible to have an emotional attachment to the way a chip is done then yes; reminded me of my mums homemade chips out of the old chip pan. Wine was outstanding and an excellent recommendation. Great value, lovely staff and good food. I imagine we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrElmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

 
Tintwistle, Glossop
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing