We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Windy Harbour(Glossop)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
The Woodlands(Glossop)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
97
35
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
35
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomevening mealvictorian stylelovely hotelpresented beautifullyfreshly prepared foodroll top bathgreat surroundingsearly victorianperiod furniturepeak districtfour posterdietary needsgood nights sleepensuite bathroombreakfast was excellentamazing food
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst up for work. The host was very friendly. The hotel has ample parking and is easy to find (right next to the golf course off the main road). Very comfortable room, spotlessly clean with tea and coffee making facilities including teapot. Cooked breakfast was excellent. They're right on the edge of the Peak District and the scenery is spectacular. They suggested some walks but I was pushed for time and daylight. The hotel does evening meals but I fancied a wander out and the owner was happy to recommend some restaurants to me. Will definitely stay again. Town is approx 20 mins walk.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

This hotel is a real home from home. The hosts Ian and Alison are so kind and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. Ian is an excellent chef who produces freshly prepared food, always beautifully presented with lovely delicate flavours. You would not find a better meal in any top restaurant. If you had any dietary needs they would be catered for all you need to do is let Ian know prior to your visit. I have eaten here several times and am never disappointed. The rooms are spotlessly clean, very comfortable and have outstanding views. I travel all over the UK on a weekly basis and this hotel is my favourite by far. Excellent value for money in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have seen were lovely
Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

The food was excellently cooked and presented but there was a very limited menu. One meat option, one fish option and one vegetarian option.
Ther menu was repeated on the two nights we stayed - no variance available,
No diabetic or dietary needs appear to be catered for.
Disappointing given the price.
Quiet to the point of almost silence.
Restful if that is what you want but .....

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Stayed for one night en-route from southern England to York. The hotel is located on a lane close to Glossop town centre but not too close. The owner was very welcoming and attentive with tea and biscuits provided on arrival. The room ('badger', room 4) was perfect for me and my girlfriend. Very clean, very quiet. Had an excellent nights sleep followed by a very good breakfast which set up for the days travelling and activities. Will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodyhead2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We were greeted by our host Alison and shown around this beautiful early Victorian country house which has been tastefully converted into a hotel. The furnishings have been selected to compliment the property. Our bedroom was warm and spacious with well selected furnishings and the en-suite was well laid out with a walk in shower. The bed was comfortable with feather duvet and choice of pillows. Tea making facilities were provided. On opening the curtains in the morning we were met with wonderful rural views.
The breakfast room again accorded great views over the garden complimented by the wild life. Breakfast was excellent with faultless service this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews