We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$126
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$126
Agoda.comUS$126
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
142
163
89
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
142
163
89
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked breakfast the pub main building peak district peveril castle one night stay couple of nights lovely location peak cavern double room family room yogurt mam tor both nights tea and coffee continental haunted
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2020

We stayed here for a total of 2 nights as a mid week escape.
It's the first time we have visited Castleton what a picturesque place!
There was plenty to do - lots of trails,quaint pubs and resturants and nearby attractions such as Speedwell cavern, Peak cavern, Blue Johns cavern and Treak cliff cavern.
We had a great view of Peveril Castle from our room (Room 4)
The room was spacious and clean and they allowed us to take beverages up to the room to enjoy in our own comfort.
My partner suffers with a bad back and he said it's the best nights sleep he's had in a long time.
The staff were attentive and helpful and found me a hairdryer as I'd forgotten to bring my own!
Booking in for food was necessary as it was limited to numbers due to covid. We booked in advance and the food was fantastic, I asked to sit in a particular area (window seat) and they held the table for us without any issues.
Service and stay was good don't have any criticism.

Perfect base to explore.

The Rose cottage is also worth a visit it's not far from the lodge.

I will mention that i was very keen to find out the history of the Inn (they have an original bannister) and stumbled upon a review that said it was haunted....It's NOT we stayed in room 4. We didn't have any 'disturbances' don't beleive in it anyway and wasn't put off so don't be afraid! What ghost?!

We look forward to visiting again in the near future.

Thanks to all the staff.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020

Good evening Bianca

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a detailed, informative and entertaining review from your stay with us at The Castle Hotel, as well as your experiences exploring Castleton.

This is one of the best reviews I have had the privilege of reading in a long time.

I will certainly pass your kind comments onto our team.

We hope to welcome you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, until then, we send you our best wishes.

Kind regards
Josh
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

Location of the Innkeepers lodge/ Cheshire Cat pub at Christleton Cheshire, is great, far enough outside of Chester to enjoy the rural surroundings, but close enough to walk into Chester along the Shropshire Union Canal, (2.5miles). Stayed the Friday and saturday night 14th 15th August. We stayed in one of the detached buildings groundfloor, room was nice and clean with ensuite shower room, no bath tea/coffee making facilities, and minmal hanging (no wardrobe) but ample for weekend stay.
We had a meal in the pub Friday night, food was good, and the waitress was very friendly, with excellent customer service, unfortunately this cannot be said about all of the staff, who could do with taking a page or two out of her book.
We really liked the table we had friday so we reserved the same table for Saturday night for our 20th wedding anniversary, unfortunately the welcoming host on saturday night advised us on arrival, that they "tried to keep it free but couldn't" and that was as good as an excuse as he was willing to give. The food was great.
We took the option to upgrade to cooked breakfast saturday morning as opposed to the bagged continental, and it arrived promptly and hot, unfortunately we went for the same option Sunday morning, but waited a long time (30mins,approx)and it was tepid on arrival. Scrambled egg was disappointing Sunday, but not Saturday.
Deffinitely more positives than negatives to staying here, and would deffinitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WilliamG1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, however we are the Inn Keepers Lodge in Castleton called The Castle Hotel, we are not the one in Cheshire.

Kind regards,
Emmajane - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

Castleton is lovely and the inn is set in a quiet location in the centre if the village. It’s a large pub with good beers and a reasonable, if restricted, menu. Quality is fine, but prices quite high. We stayed in a room in the separate building across the car park. It was a decent size and reasonably furnished with windows opening onto the car park. Poor soundproofing - you could easily hear noise from upstairs. Breakfast was miserable - a brown paper bag containing cereal bar, muffin, piece of fruit and water. This is company policy at the moment, since we had the same at another of their hotels. On a positive note, they did attempt to improve the situation later in our stay by offering yogurt and boxes of cereal.
The had the Covid-19 guidelines fully implemented and the place felt safe.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2020

Thank you for your constructive review. We appreciate your patience during this time as we look to re-open and re-build the business following the period of closer.
Kind regards
Josh
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2020

The location is convenient for walking, and parking was available. You can park in Castleton for free if their car park is full, should you be able to find a space around the church. The bed was a good size, and comfortable.

The "lodges" are separate to the pub and in all honesty not fit for purpose, as we experienced a great deal of noise from the floor above us (we were in room 8) due to non existent sound proofing. Every movement can be heard with lots of creaking and thudding, you can hear their TV, and when they speak. You can also hear everything going on outside, and as we were right next to the main door, every time someone came or went we had a loud bang of the door being closed. This affected our nights sleep, as when they got up in the middle of the night to use the loo it woke us both up, and also early morning.
The bathroom looked grubby, and the shower in the corner bath was low pressured. It felt like the staff did not want to bother with us, maybe due to the Cornavirus, but it certainly didn't make us feel welcome. Lastly, the breakfast was pathetic. Apparently all they could offer was a muffin, a snack bar and a few bits of fruit in a bag. I'm not sure why given they were serving food in the evening, and all the other pubs and cafes could manage to serve food. You could get tea, coffee and orange additionally if you went to eat in the main building.

Date of stay: July 2020
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2020

Mark T

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. If you are willing, please contact us at 01433 620578 so we can work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
The Castle Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2020

We often visit various places in the peak district and Castleton is one our favorites. Upon arrival mid afternoon checked in no problems, and advised we had room 5 in the lodge. Lovely light and spacious room, and comfy beds.

Had no issues during our stay and we were advised before arrival with regards to the breakfast. A good base for exploring. Did not eat here as there were so many options in Castleton.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 785philipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2020

Dear 785philipw,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can entice you to try some of our delectable dishes should you visit again.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Owen (Shift Supervisor) & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews