We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little family hotel and excellent service”
Review of Church View Hotel

Church View Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Donington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church View Hotel
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I booked a room directly with the hotel and everything went smoothly. I was met by owner Keith and dog and he couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful. The room was modern with a wet room ensuite and was very comfortable.
Having had a poor journey down from Scotland during the storms Keith very kindly opened up the bar for a few drinks and was very attentive and friendly.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the whole stay was very pleasurable.
I've stayed in many international chains but this is how a small hotel should be run.
I highly recommend the Church View Hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking if you want a room with a view or a disabled friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2015

i wrote a review earlier on this year as we were due to stop for our silver wedding anniversary but it appears to have been removed.the customer service off the owners was absolutely shocking we had booked for two nights in March and I had booked the restaurant for one of the nights but asked for some details about restaurants available in the area and was advised to look on the internet which was no help what so ever. and when I advised I was unhappy to continue with the booking due to way this was handled as this was a special occasion for us I was advised she was glad we had cancelled to which I still have the email . disgraceful service

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We booked over the phone and enjoyed a very pleasant one night stay whilst racing at Donington. Super clean, comfy, lovely people, really great breakfast. Overall I'd say that this lovely little hotel/B&B is well worth a visit. It's only 10 minutes from the M1, 5 minutes from Donington circuit and 5 minutes from East Midlands Airport. Oh, it's got quite a big car park too and easily fitted my car and trailer. I hope you find this helpful.

Room Tip: 9 had a new en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GWL1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I stayed for 2 nights in August while attending a Classic Race meeting at Donington Park. A friendly host Keith showed me to my room number 9. This single room was spacious with a great shower room facility and had everything I required with the bonus of a ceiling fan which was most welcome. Breakfast freshly cooked and plentiful with the option of continental if required. Private car park too.
I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment and I hope to return there next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very well decorated, exceptionally clean and ideally situated for Donington Race Circuit only 5-10 minutes away by vehicle. The room was well appointed and comfortable topped by a very tasty cooked breakfast in the morning. Parking at the rear a bonus.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SussexApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Donington hotels
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
0.2 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
331 reviews
2 km away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
906 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
629 reviews
3 km away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church View Hotel

Address: 71-73 Clapgun Street, Castle Donington DE74 2LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Donington
Price Range: €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church View Hotel is a family run hotel situated in the historic village of Castle Donington.We provide a very high standard of accommodation and service in a tasteful, relaxing and stylish environment.The rooms tastefully respect the historic building while having a modern function and style reflected in the quality of bath and bedroom furniture.Fed up of staying in large chain hotels with a distinct lack of individuality?The Church View Hotel brings you all the comforts of a large modern hotel with a unique, individual service that puts you the customer first. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing