We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for large groups”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ebenezer Chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claireand...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tatty , desperately in need of up dating and maintenance”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with family friends and due to good company had a great time. However only 1 of the 2 microwaves worked if you physically held the door shut. 2 plugs in the living area had pins missing from them which made them highly dangerous.We had to buy a radiator key to get them working. The sink leaked and we had to fix it our selfs. Despite trying to call the owner they never answered or returned our call. The settees need up dating, disgusting. Tin opener didn't work. Desperate for a refurb and electrical inspection to make safe. Cold rooms.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Please see the management response to the review of 'Needs a Safety Inspection' as you are a member of the same group. The one call about the slight leak under the sink did not make anything sound urgent and it was stated that the information was just to let me know. I did try to return the call but at the time was in a remote valley with no phone reception and by the time I received reception there was no response at the chapel. The reception in the chapel is very hit and miss depending on what part of the building you are in. However nothing sounded urgent and that was the only thing mentioned and a plumber could easily have been called in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham...
ROTHERHAM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with friends & family in Dec/Jan 2014/15. I was in the front room. The radiator never came on & there is an open fireplace adding to the cold. It was freezing all the time & had to be vaccumed to get rid of spiders webs around the room that had not been cleaned for a long time. Neither had the en suite. It had not been cleaned around the toilet or behind the seat. Downstairs bathroom was very cold & water in shower did not drain fast enough. The place hasnt been decorated for years, there were faulty plugs in the lounge, the microwave door wouldn't close. All in all the place was a disgrace.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belper hotels

Jennie M
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs a safety inspection”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed this new year, could be a fabulous place but needs new settees as most of them are broken. Microwave doesn't work and there's a note saying it's doesn't work and they're not replacing it. Lots of rooms with green walls because of the damp. We had to clean it ourselves when we got there as it was quite dirty and lots of cobwebs. Windows and doors in bedrooms had dead insects on them. Pulled one plug out and it fell to bits things in kitchen didn't work like tin opener, bottle opener, scissors didn't cut - the list is endless. Terrible shame really as it could be amazing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
During the visitors stay the only problem mentioned was on an answering machine message stating that a sink was leaking slightly but it was no problem and the customer was just informing me of this fact. Nothing else was mentioned at all. I had an amicable exchange with the customer after her stay but this all appears to have changed after there was a deduction from the security deposit for missing items.
However, I have to comment that the sofas are not broken? There are two microwaves which work fine, a handle on one of the microwaves does have a chip of plastic missing from it, but this does not affect the way it functions. What owner would leave a note saying 'It doesn't work and they are not replacing it'?
The kitchen is very well equipped and the items mentioned could have been replaced quickly from the supply of spares.
As far as safety is concerned one plug was found to be damaged with the pin dropping out. It had had some severe treatment. The property is inspected annually by Visit Britain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynws
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with around 10 friends back in October, we were visiting Alton Towers and needed a large place to stay. Ebenezer Chapel was perfect for us, it gave us all so much space, we didn't feel like we were treading on each others toes at all. The dining area was large enough to fit a lot of people and the kitchen was well equipped for large groups and there were more than enough sofas for everyone to sit together. The sauna was an extra bonus for us! The only downside was the on road parking, no allocated parking for all our cars but we never failed to park right outside so it didn't matter too much.
If you need somewhere for large groups then this is perfect. Lots of room for socialising but enough rooms that you can get away if needed! There is an extra, smaller sitting room upstairs also if needed. It is just by the river which is lovely and there is a pub just up the road which was great too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you found the chapel well equipped and had a good time and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing