We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
1,169 results
Traveller rating
330
403
225
136
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
330
403
225
136
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roombridal suitemain buildingthe holly bush innevening mealafternoon teaconservatory restauranttwo night stayroom was largederbyshire countrysidefood was lovelylovely settinglovely old buildingwedding venueboth morningsbuffet stylesuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,169 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a 2 night buy a gift present. Lots of positives about this hotel great location gardens are lovely could do with more benches outdoors seating we ended up sitting on the grass with our drinks in the evening but weather has been fab so it was fine. We had an evening meal included in the package that was superb really lovely tasty food, staff were friendly breakfast the next day very good plenty of choice and hot. My only complaints or observations would be the room could do with a lick of paint, the walls are dirty carpet dirty as well the toilet seat broken little things like that should be seen to. Bed was very comfy and the shower was brilliant. Lovely location love the area so much to do and see.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rufuscrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm M, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good afternoon
Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass your comments on to the staff, and I take on board your comments and will address them. Hope you will come back in the future to enjoy our hotel again.
Kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

This is our fourth visit and yet again we were so pleased with this hotel. The grounds and the hotel itself are wonderful. The staff are always friendly and work well as a team. The restaurant is a large and airy conservatory, so there is always plenty of wildlife to watch out the windows. The menu is very varied and so appetising that my husband says that the staff could choose for him as he could eat all of the choices. We thoroughly enjoyed both evening meals and our breakfasts. The location of the hotel is very good for many attractions to visit, i.e. Derby and a designer outlet nearby. We shall definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm M, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good afternoon. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, Fantastic to hear you have stayed with us four times and enjoy the hotel and area so much. I will pass your comments onto the staff. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Set at the edge of the Peak district, Makeney Hall is a lovely relaxing hotel in which to base yourself. With hiking, rambling and sights galore, you won't be short of things to do, all within easy reach.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Alistair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm M, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good afternoon. Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass them onto the staff. The hotel is perfectly positioned for hiking and sightseeing. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

loved our short break here, grounds are lovely for a wander, hotel reception staff lovely,, in a beautiful setting with a lovely pub across the road. bed comfortable we did not eat as i am vegan and breakfast is usually difficult, but the restaurant looks fab.
hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zeus1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm M, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good afternoon. Thank you for your lovely comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments onto the staff. Please let us know when you book in the future as we will definitely be able to cater for you.
kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Had a weekend short break here and was a bit concerned having read some reviews about it being tired! We def didn’t think it was any more tired than it should be at the age of the lovely old building! We thought the hotel was lovely, and Staff are very accommodating! Excellent value for money and the food of an extremel high standard for evening meal!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jcbdunnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gm M, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review and very kind words. I will share these with the team. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews