We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in a spectacular setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Parking is available right outside your door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Parking is available right outside your door
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful. In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Parking is available right outside your door
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful.
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Holly Cottage is waiting to welcome you, for a long holiday or short break
Your lounge is cosy and comfortable, with leather sofa and gorgeous fire.
Relax on the snuggly leather sofa, in front of the fire
Our cosy lounge has underfloor heating, a fire and a TV and DVD player
Our cosy fire, for chilled out afternoons or a relaxing evenings after a busy day
That special occasion can be made even more special with a stay at Holly Cottage
Our kitchen, complete with dishwasher, full size cooker, washer/drier and fridge freezer
Our kitchen contains everything you may need, from snacks through to full blown gastronomic delights
Washer and tumble dryer are provided for your use - we've tried to think of everything
Underfloor heating makes all the difference on those chilly evenings!
The stylish first floor bedroom has an oak floor, exposed brickwork and original beams.
With captivating views from your bed, who could ask for anywhere better to wake up?
Superb countryside vista from the window in the pretty bedroom
Wake up refreshed and relaxed in our pretty bedroom.
Wake from a blissful sleep to magnificent views of the Derbyshire countryside.
Fresh sheets mmmmmm!
Comfortable bed with egyptian cotton bedding.
The light and airy bedroom has plenty of wardrobe and storage space.
Luxurious bathroom with high quality toiletry products and fluffy egyptian cotton towels.
Light and airy bathroom
At the end of the day relax in our sumptuous double ended bath tub
Fancy a shower instead of a bath?
Your en-suite bathroom is a tranquil haven with toiletries and all towels provided.
Top class fittings throughout
Surrounded by beautiful countryside.
Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful countryside
Our sentiments exactly!
We are pleased to welcome one small well behaved dog.
River Dove at Ellastone, great for wild swimming.
River Dove at Ellastone Bridge
Our award winning local pub. Just a short stroll away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
677anna
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a spectacular setting.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Holly cottage is a luxurious place to spend a few days away. It is spotlessly clean, very well equipped and comfortable. It is well located for visiting local attractions and charming villages. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character of cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thanks for your review. You are welcome to come back to stay with us any time. Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had an excellent holiday in Ellastone, a beautiful location with lots to do. Michele's knowledge of the area was a great help when deciding where to visit during our stay. The cottage itself was immaculate and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would recommend a stay at Holly Cottage to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. It's a pity that I can't leave a 5* rating for you too. Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley E
1 review
“Beautifully presented and ever so cute!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Holly Cottage for 3 nights whilst visiting the area for business. The house is in a beautiful spot with some excellent places to eat nearby. The house itself is perfect, beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Holly Cottage has everything you could need for a stress free stay. We will definitely be back to this gorgeous part of the country and to lovely little Holly Cottage. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Happy to hear that we met your expectations. It will be lovely to have you stay with us again (hopefully November). Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage! ”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second! The cottage is beautiful and has been very well done to make you feel at home. Very cosy and perfect to relax in after a long day of walking in the countryside! The bath tub was amazing and such a special touch to the upstairs to make it even more luxury than it already is! There is so much to do around the area of Ashbourne and I would advise a trip to Dovedale because of its beautiful walks and views. We hope to return again in the near future because we loved it so much and have yet to experience more of what the area has to offer.
Thank you Michele for making us feel so welcome, and letting us stay in your wonderfully renovated cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
So pleased that cottage lived up to its description and had everything that you needed. 3 days is not a long enough stay when you realise what the area has to offer and so I look forward to showing you more of beautiful Derbyshire on your next visit. Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DW123_12
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality Cottage in Great Location For the Peaks”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Splendid little cottage finished off to a high standard.A great location for hitting all the national park traiks, stately homes and market towns. Very peaceful and all cottage roms and equipment was first class.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Dear D & B. Thank you for taking the time to share your views.It's very helpful to other potential guests, and reassures us that we are getting things right.
Regards Michele
p.s. Glad that Dogget behaved himself
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing