We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal”
Review of The Shire Horse

The Shire Horse
Ranked #25 of 103 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Friendly country pub and restaurant with garden seating with stunning landscape views. Open all days of the week and offer weekly steak and fish nights, with a monthly world event night. A great team works here to provide excellent customer service and delicious meals, making it an enjoyable experience for anyone involved
Reviewed 20 June 2018

S Very good Sunday meal service very good will visit again.staff very good needs the building to be finished but meal good .

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank excelcouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Whilst staying locally we walked here with our Labrador. After a few drinks in the evening sun in the garden (very nice Dancing Duck) we went to a corner of the bar to eat, despite not booking. I had baked haddock with poached egg and dauphinois potatoes, and the wife had chicken with mushroom sauce. Both very tasty and well presented. I'm not normally one for dessert, but we both had the cream and honeycomb cheesecake. Quite simply the best cheesecake I've ever had. Thank you for squeezing us in without booking.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Hartke_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Have recently visited after a long time. When the new owner took over he promised great things with regards to improving the facilities and decor. This has not taken place. The food and friendly staff are excellent, but the crockery has little or no glaze on it, it is that old. The double glazing units have gone. The seats are dirty and generally the whole place needs renovating. When the building matches the food and service we will return

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank limosteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Crisp white table cloths, immaculate cutlery. Courteous, efficient staff waiting at table. Lovely bright dining room extension overlooking fields with large table that seated 16 of us
Excellent Sunday lunch menu. Well presented & it came with a good gravy. Just a little on the plate & more in gravy boats. Accompanied by a wide selection of perfectly cooked vegetables.
Good selection of pudds & chocolates came with the coffee.
Lots of outside seating.
Dogs made welcome & are permitted in the bar.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Loobeloo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We found the pub via google as we were looking for somewhere for lunch after a cycling competition at Darley Moor. We received a warm welcome from Carlo the manager, there is a great choice of food (full menu, children's menu, hot baguettes and sandwiches, vegetarian options) and the pub is dog friendly. We sat out in the beer garden which has beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. The food was excellent - proper home-cooked fayre. Such a great find and we'd love to go back.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loubyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shire Horse also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shire Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing