We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely village, nice cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Etchells, Boggy Lane, Church Broughton
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Etchells, Boggy Lane, Church Broughton
Private patio area outside 6 The Etchells Well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Etchells, Boggy Lane, Church Broughton
Private patio area outside 6 The Etchells
Well equipped kitchen
Main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Anna...
2 reviews
“Lovely village, nice cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we stayed at the cottage for 6 nights with 2 little kids. Kids really enjoyed a great selection of games that we found at the cottage. Also they loved the playground opposite to the pub. There is also a free tennis court next to the playgrounds!
Cottage was very well equipped, we found everything we were looking for. I would definitely recommend this place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great, cosy little house, perfect for me and the kids (and lots of board games to keep them entertained); wonderful location, very peaceful, local pub less than 100 yards away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noisy fridge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin F
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful Location”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a delightful cottage in the very peaceful village of Church Broughton. It's about 15 miles south of the peaks and is set in lovely countryside. The cottage is very well equipped and is very clean and tidy. I would have to say that the futon is hard work to sit on which was a disappointment after a days walking. Also the double bed mattress springs protrude and seem to find places that I didn't know I had. These two reasonably large faults aside, the cottage is ideal for what we wanted. I would recommend that the information supplied in the cottage is read to avoid upsetting the locals when parking etc as it is a residential area. The pub is a 2 min walk away and serves amazing food at very reasonable prices.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. We note your comments about the double bed springs and have now ensured that it is much more comfortable to sleep in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet location in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly it was difficult to open the key box! Then after a long journey needed the bathroom to find no toilet roll. I've stayed at many places and have never encountered this before, so had to find the nearest shop that was 5 miles away before unpacking. Also none of the lights were working, however fortunately I found the trip switch which had tripped.
The cottage was very well equipped otherwise, but our biggest disappoinment which also gave us some concerns, was the condition of the bedroom windows inside and out which were in a very bad shape and dirty and mouldy. The downstairs lounge window had not been cleaned and the covered patio area roof was extremely dirty and covered with big cobwebs.
The inside of the cottage was adequately clean otherwise.
The futon acting as a couch was extremely uncomfortable and we had to use the spare bedding just to make it comfortable to sit on.
Overall a nice little property in a very quiet out of the way location that was probably value for the monies paid, as it was cheaper than most others in the area, but in dire need of smartening up and being thoroughly cleaned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price
Liked least: The condition and lack of cleanliness of the windows and outside area and no comfortable seating inside with no telephonic signals at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review and while we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay we are sorry that there were some issues. Please know that we have a programme of redecoration in process, including the windows, with the twin room having been completed in summer 2014. Further work is planned in the coming months. We apologise for the electric issue and toilet rolls, but our cleaner was away and there had been a communication breakdown. We have improved our systems and will endeavour to ensure the same issues do not arise again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJW1987
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value cosy appartment”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a long weekend in September, the location was very pretty and the appartment was pleasent and clean and good value for money. David responded very promptly to all my enquires and was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing