We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, welcoming and well-equipped”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, welcoming and well-equipped”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Hollybank House is a great location for a group stay, and our book group is about to book a third year on the run. Exceptionally well-equipped (all the bedrooms have TVs, bathrobes and tea and coffee making facilities, for example and there is not a single piece of kitchen equipment that hasn't been thought of), it's also in a great location within a short walk of Ashbourne's shops, cafes and restaurants. Nicely landscaped with outdoor seating and games room. Two sitting rooms and not a dud bedroom amongst them. The owners are very welcoming - a lovely hamper on arrival - and very friendly and easy to deal with. Difficult to fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We feel quite humble that you are revisiting Holly bank. It is lovely to know when people have had a great time.We enjoy the challenge of providing for all age groups and all the many interests that our guests have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great house in a great location!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful week at Hollybank House. The owners were very helpful when I was booking the stay and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the house. We were overwhelmed by the food hamper, wine and individually named colouring books and sweets for all 4 children.

The house was extremely well equipped and the bedding etc was beautifully clean. The extra touches such as the bathrobes in the bedrooms, the cupboards full of toys and games and the outdoor games all helped to make the stay a special one. The garden is beautiful and the upper terrace with the log chalet is superb. There was ample room for us (8 adults and 4 children) to have a BBQ and all the cutlery and crockery needed was stored in the cupboard in the chalet. Unfortunately the weather only allowed us to indulge in a BBQ on one evening.

The house is very well situated - less than 5 minutes walk into Ashbourne where there are numerous pubs and shops. I can recommend the George and Dragon for its excellent food and good atmosphere. Also less than 5 minutes walk from Hollybank House is the Memorial Park where our grandchildren enjoyed the water play area.

All in all a great house in a great location - an excellent choice especially if you have a large family/group to accommodate - I can certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We do feel that Hollybank being so near to lots of amenities and yet having a quiet and secluded garden is a real bonus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house and incredible service”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at Hollybank house with our extended family in July 2015.

Firstly, our dealings with Ron and Jo were amazing from the start. Ron called us in Australia to provide further details and was always available by phone or email to answer any questions and help with our arrangements. We made our booking quite late and had the last minute addition of my sister's dog (when her house sitter fell through) but it was all made very easy and painless by Ron and Jo's amazingly helpful attitude.

On arrival, the welcome packs were a total surprise and very much appreciated by all. Hollybank house itself is beautiful and the presentation impeccable. The grounds as well were immaculate and we made good use of the barbeque and outdoor area between the showers!

With games to play on rainy days and grounds to enjoy on sunny ones, a two minute stroll to the centre of Ashbourne and short drive to the heart of the Peak District, Hollybank house was the perfect place for our family reunion.

The house was beautiful, dealing with Ron and Jo was a pleasure throughout and we cannot recommend Hollybank house enough - the whole experience was truly exceptional!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We are so pleased that having travelled so far you were not disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonC5150
Woking
1 review
“Lovely house at the gateway to the beautiful Peaks”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Hollybank House is in the heart of Ashbourne and just a stones throw from the Peaks. Perfect for large families and small groups of friends.

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and were welcomed, with a thoughtfully arranged welcome pack and even small gifts for the babies! The house had everything we could possibly want. It is spacious, has 2 sitting rooms both with large tellys but we found we didn't need to watch them for the entire bank holiday weekend! We were kept well entertained by the board games, garden games, barbecue, the beautiful Peak District and, of course, the many real ale pubs in the area! The new chalet is definitely a bonus, I really want one now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We are so pleased that the new chalet is a success
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic long weekend at Hollybank House. Ron and Jo were very helpful throughout the booking process and leading up to our stay, even providing extra information on one of the activities we were planning.

The house had everything we needed for our group of nine adults. Plenty of space, super-comfy beds and an excellent welcome pack on our arrival. We had five cars between us and never had any problems parking them out the front of the house.

The house is really well equipped and Ron and Jo are clearly aiming for (and achieving) a high standard, but what made this extra special is that it feels like a family home and that you can treat it as such - you don't have to treat it with kid-gloves fearing for your deposit if you don't clean it properly on leaving.

The location is excellent - 5 mins walk into the centre of Ashbourne to the shops and to the start of the Tissington Trail.

I would highly recommend Hollybank!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds, the welcome pack, being able to treat it like home....
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.Pleased that our new Parking Bay is a success
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing