We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly delicious”

The Duncombe Arms Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Duncombe Arms Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Duncombe Arms Pub is a delightful setting in which to enjoy a drink, some lovely food and a chat. You’ll have the ambience of a roaring log fire and enjoy choosing from a great range of beers, a varied and interesting selection of wines and all your favourite soft drinks. Our great food is freshly prepared and we offer traditional favourites with a few exciting specialties of our own – all at affordable prices.
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Duncombe Arms has old fashioned and smart service - you are not bothered all the time, yet feel the staff are always checking you are having a great time. The food is delicious. I took my girlfriend there for dinner and we were both thrilled. She had local venison bresaola and I had the mist delicious egg in breadcrumbs followed by the amazing chicken kiev, which was utterly delicious. Zuleika had the lamb, which she loved. We shared the chocolate and popcorn brownie pudding and had champagne and rose. I have recommended the place to various friends and could not praise the food more. Very delicious indeed and the pub is in a truly beautiful part of north Staffs. Also excellent value for food that would not be out of place at Claridge's - although better portions here! I won't forget the truffle and parmesan french fries.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear Oglander,
Wow what a lovely review! I am delighted you had a lovely time with your girlfriend as do our team who prepared the food and those that looked after you at your table. Your succinct review underpins everything that we are trying to achieve at The Duncombe Arms, quality of food and service and dare I say it but a bit of love!

Your praise set alongside the great name of Claridges is a huge accolade so from all of us at The Duncombe a huge thank you.

We hope you will come and see us soon

Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 559 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Visited for Father's Day with family. Lovely venue, very cool and there was a brilliant fireplace in the room we were sat in, off to the side with only one other table in. The food was faultless and service was efficient and friendly. We all had the Sunday roast from the set menu, the beef was practically thinly sliced steak. Spiced carrot cake was undoubtedly the best carrot cake I have ever had! Worth going back just for more of that! There was a nice outdoor seating area with a chiminea we saw on the way out to the car park. Will certainly be returning in the future.

2  Thank CCStubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear CcStubley
Thank you for your glowing report on your recent visit and thank you for choosing us to celebrate Fathers Day with your family. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and that the team looked after you. A special accolade for the beef and spiced carrot cake will delight the kitchen!

We hope to welcome you back soon and thanks again.

Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Very nice when you can sit outside and admire the view. food sounds nice , some of it wasnt quite to our liking,or a little overpriced, but then i guess everyone is different. defo worth it! best to book, as always quite busy, especially at the weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steffi3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear Steffi,

Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. Summer offers an opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the view down to the river Dove whilst having a drink or dining or both. It really is a great time of year so let's hope the good weather stays with us.

Our prices reflect freshly prepared ingredients which are all prepared in our kitchen and staffing to enable customers to really enjoy their experience with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review The Duncombe Arms and we look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We were staying at the Manor House Farm B&B and they recommended the Duncombe Arms. They phoned to ensure availability. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the efficient but very friendly staff. The menu is one of those that the more you look, the harder it is to decide what to have. Re the food - we could have been in any top restaurant!
Fortunately we were staying two nights at the B&B and could return the next night and experience it all over again.
Janette & John, Molyullah, Australia.

2  Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear Janette,

I hope you enjoyed your stay at Manor House Farm and saw a bit of Staffordshire and Derbyshire. Thank you for coming to see us not once but twice while you were in the area a compliment in itself! I am pleased you liked the pub and had a good time. Please tell all the Australians on holiday in England to come and see us!

Thanks a million
Best wishes

Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The Duncombe Arms is a delightful pub restaurant with a lovely atmosphere. The tables are spaciously set out which is greatly appreciated. The food was delicious, especially the Panna Cotta desert with strawberries and sorbet. Service excellent. Will certainly recommend to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marie_Stoke2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear Marie,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor after visiting The Duncombe Arms. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and are going to recommend us to family and friends. This mean a lot so many thanks.

We are enjoying great weather and it will come as no surprise that the garden is busy lunch and dinner. Let's hope the warm weather continues.

We hope to see you back at The Duncombe soon.

Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duncombe Arms Pub also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Denstone, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Duncombe Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing