We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“13th Visit!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hayloft Cottage

Hayloft Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hayloft Cottage
Outdoor Play Area with football pitch The Stackyard Holiday Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Hayloft Cottage
Outdoor Play Area with football pitch
The Stackyard Holiday Cottages
Modern well equipped kitchen
open plan lounge area
open plan lounge area
Open Plan Kitchen Diner and lounge
King size bedroom with en-suite bathroom
King size bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Twin bedded room
Shower room
Limousin Cattle
Lakeland Herdwick sheep
The first lamb of 2014
The first lamb enjoying spring sunshine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JBallerin...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“13th Visit! ”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Well, where do I start! Just driving home after our 13th stay in The Stackyard Cottages!

We have now been visiting the Lakes and staying at these wonderful cottages for the last 6 years! We simply love it here and would move in if we could!!!

I remember the first time we drove down the quaint lane to the cottages and the excitement of our children, who were 4 and 7 at the time, of the large play area and trampoline. It's just so quiet and safe for little ones.

The quality of the cottages has always been good. Everything is always spotless on arrival, and Natalie and John have thought of everything you could need. They go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect and that you enjoy your stay.

The latest edition of Sky TV is a real bonus for those cosy nights, after a long walk, in front of the woodburner.

There are a couple of lovely pubs that serve great food which are only a short drive away. We particularly like the Sun Inn.

The Lakes are about a 20 minute drive away, but we tend to drive a little further from time to time to visit new places, but the drive is always breathtaking.

We've already booked our next two visits as we never want to leave this wonderful, relaxing place, with such perfect hosts. xxx



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
We are so glad that you have enjoyed yet another visit to The Stackyard Holiday Cottages, as we have enjoyed spending some time with you.
We enjoy running the holiday cottages alongside our working farm and constantly try to find ideas to improve our visitors experience, so we are delighted that Sky TV has been such a welcome addition.
Two more visits to look forward to and many more in the future we hope.
Thank you for your continued visits and for spreading the word among your friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Couldn't fault the whole experience. So many lovely features, and we so appreciated the Christmas tree and decorations, as well as the crackers on the table... lovely attention to detail which is true of the property in general. Very generous sized accommodation and all the fixtures and fittings are of a high quality. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need and more! Sky sports was popular with us too...
The bedrooms were really comfortable and the garden with outdoor toys was great for the children
The location is one of those 'middle of nowhere' places where you can completely relax and yet the A595 is just a few minutes away to get to places.
Lidl in Wigton is great for supplies (5 mins in car)... Dodd wood was our favourite walk (just 20 mins away) and Carlisle just 25 mins.
Thanks to Natalie for all your hard work in giving us such a specia time... we will definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you to you all, we are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas visit to our cottage with your family, your kind comments are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyjaneb
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bolt hole!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We have stayed in these cottages a few times now. Beautiful countryside all around, some great roads for cycling and lovely walks. You can buy produce from the farm and Natalie provides a lovely welcome pack. There is a great outside space for bbqs and the such. There are plenty of things for the kids to play on.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
27L09R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Hayloft cottage was presented in a very clean condition and would say it was very like the photos show.

We found the kitchen to be well stocked, the fire alarms are very sensitive though!

There is plenty of parking directly in front of the cottage door, we found it to be easy to drive to the local tourist attractions around the lakes. Be aware though that around the local towns in the Lake district they've gone parking charge mad. So expect to pay for each village / attraction, parking soon adds up.

The bedrooms and both bathrooms are on the ground floor. The living area and kitchen are up the stairs. Free WiFi available which was handy.

No issues while we stayed there. Didn't see the owners around.

Small issue on the booking process with owners direct website quoted me one price, then when the owner got back it had been an error and I was charged an extra £99.14 on to the rate - initial quotes need to be accurate, otherwise it's misleading!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words regarding your weekend stay in our cottage in September, we are so pleased to hear that your party enjoyed their break.
I am sorry that you are still not satisfied with the explanation of the initial quote error. The error arose when you were quoted the weekly per night rate for a minimum of 7 nights but because your party were enquiring about a three night weekend break you should have been quoted the short break nightly rate in line with other similar rental properties.
This error on the quote system has now been rectified.

We hope you found Hayloft Cottage Comfortable clean and affordable base from which the three of you could enjoy the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janiescad...
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have now stayed in the Hayloft 10 times, brilliant place to stay, the owners are there if you need anything, but they leave you to enjoy . Spotless accommodation. All done to a high specification

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing