We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Inn(Ulverston)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Inn(Ulverston)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Ulverston(Ulverston)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crosslands Farm(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fishermans Arms(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virginia House(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
180
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic toiletriesthe main housesausagewhite companylovely bathroom productsluxurious stayunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascoshort walkhighest qualityan excellent hostspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar service
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

arrived on Friday 6/10/17 to a welcome from Sam, stayed for 3 nights in the barn conversion was really clean and beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and we had a really relaxing time. We would definitely be coming back for our third visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Tremendous breakfast, Lovely people too.
They just made our time in Cumbria so restful.
We were shown all the rooms, so we could see each for real,in advance of our NEXT visit.
All the rooms are so well decorated and appointed.

Thank you so much. Ps IT'S A BnB, but I have still ticked the "hotel" options below as there are NO OTHERS!!

Room Tip: Barn room is the largest, the other 2 are in the main house, and so comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This was a lovely stay in the barn room. Candlewyck feels like it's in the middle of the countryside but is a quick walk down into Ulveston which is a lovely town with lots of places to eat and full of independent shops. Our room had tasteful decor, great bed and shower with organic toiletries. We were welcomed by Daria who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, she even booked us in somewhere for an evening meal. Wonderful breakfast too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank danusia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this for a one night stopover when doing a cycling sportive. Whilst more expensive than other options, it was an incredibly relaxing place to be. Fine quality in every respect. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank salnursing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you stayed so that we were able to look after you both, the weather was great for your cycle ride too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Never mind the weather, the welcome was all we could wish for...comfortable bed, excellent Cumbrian breakfast (who needs lunch?!), friendly dogs and no effort spared on Sam's part to look after us. I would have no hesitation in returning!
This is a B & B not a hotel (see below) so I've answered these questions accordingly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you so much Liz, it was lovely looking after you all and so pleased you had a lovely family weekend staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews