We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break at Candlewyck in ulverston.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Friday, We arrived at Candlewyck somewhat later than planned due to delays on the M6, we were met by a lovely lady called Daria who made us feel very welcome and made us a coffee on arrival which was very much appreciated (1 gold star). Also when booking via email offered to book us an evening meal at a choice of local restaurants (another gold star). We promptly abandoned our luggage, the room was nice and had all the little luxuries one would expect and chocolates :-) we then headed towards town for a wander. Plenty of unique shops and places to eat or drink, We went to an Italian called Bettulas, food was good and reasonably priced. Back to b&b to recharge after shopping trip 1 and let the arms recover! Saturday, for breakfast (the choices were asked for the day before) Good selection on offer, cereals, fruit juice, yoghurt , fruit, toast, coffee etc, as a highly trained athlete(not) I went for the cooked breakfast (which was superb, gold star number 3) and cereal and toast and Greek yoghurt with honey in (Fave), my better half also had yoghurt, fruit and toast. Shopping trip 2, more purchases required to burn off the mornings calorie fest, walked the whole of the town centre twice to ensure we hadn't missed anything and we were now in a calorie deficit, Gillams tea room for replenishment, followed by more shopping and some well deserved afternoon drinks in the wine bar Avanti Capitola, good service again reasonably priced. Met Sam that evening who was very pleasant, had a good chat and lots of information was imparted (gold star number 4). We went to a Chinese restaurant that evening called Jade Restaurant, food was good, service mediocre, reasonably priced. Also went to the monument at the top of Hoad Hill, worth a look, great views on a Clear day.
To summarise if your still reading! Lovely upmarket B&B in a nice little town, A big thank you to the hosts who couldn't do enough for us and we look forward to returning in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you both for staying and for your great review Jon, it has really made me smile.
It was a pleasure to look after you both and look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks again, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

arrived on Friday 6/10/17 to a welcome from Sam, stayed for 3 nights in the barn conversion was really clean and beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and we had a really relaxing time. We would definitely be coming back for our third visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Tremendous breakfast, Lovely people too.
They just made our time in Cumbria so restful.
We were shown all the rooms, so we could see each for real,in advance of our NEXT visit.
All the rooms are so well decorated and appointed.

Thank you so much. Ps IT'S A BnB, but I have still ticked the "hotel" options below as there are NO OTHERS!!

Room Tip: Barn room is the largest, the other 2 are in the main house, and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This was a lovely stay in the barn room. Candlewyck feels like it's in the middle of the countryside but is a quick walk down into Ulveston which is a lovely town with lots of places to eat and full of independent shops. Our room had tasteful decor, great bed and shower with organic toiletries. We were welcomed by Daria who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, she even booked us in somewhere for an evening meal. Wonderful breakfast too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank danusia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this for a one night stopover when doing a cycling sportive. Whilst more expensive than other options, it was an incredibly relaxing place to be. Fine quality in every respect. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank salnursing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you stayed so that we were able to look after you both, the weather was great for your cycle ride too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
3.2 km away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
0.8 km away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
84 reviews
0.7 km away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
41 reviews
7.9 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#4 of 26 in Ulverston
108 reviews
6.8 km away
Fishermans Arms
Fishermans Arms
#10 of 26 in Ulverston
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Candlewyck Old Hall Road, Ulverston LA12 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: €74 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing